cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP - 580ex ii is FIRING when it's been disabled? (in master)

kmgsakoian
Contributor

Hey guys! So I have a 580exii that was working great as a master to my 430exii slave, up until last night. I was using it for a product set up, where I used the 430exii with my rapid box off to the left, and kept the flash off on the master. Now my 580exii keeps firing even though it's disabled, and it looks like it's no longer connected with the 430exii because it's no longer firing. What could have caused this? Does this sound like I need to get it fixed, or maybe a new one?

Thanks!

14 REPLIES 14

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

I think we need more data. You do know that the 580 will fire in E-TTL wireless mode to talk to the 430EX, right?

What camera? Are the settings in the camera correct?

I did not know that! You'll have to excuse me, I'm a newbie in OCF. I disable it all the time and it's never gone off, so this is a first for me. It is in ETTL as of now, so that might explain it. But the slave still isn't firing. It's on the Canon 5D Mark iii, and the settings are 1/125, 7.1, ISO 100.

diverhank
Authority

There are reasons the flashes are doing what they're doing. Apparently something has changed.

Since the Master started to fire when it wasn't told to... Let's start there.

How was it told not to fire? At the flash or at the camera? Start at the camera first. Because the camera settings will override the flash settings. If the camera settings are correct then check the Master flash settings. The settings should be master, not firing, channel, ID. Then check the slave - slave, same channel and ID.

Kvbarkley was probably thinking of the built-in flash firing. The 580 will not fire visible flashes when told not to. By the way, the 430 is fully capable of being the Master use it. Use the 580 as the firing slave. It's more powerful and has more precise ETTL