Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,228
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: External flash

You have to have the internal flash on to communicate with the 430 flash. It uses pulses of light from the flash to send signals. I strongly suggest you download the full manual and go through the wireless flash section of the manual.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-19-2017

Re: External flash

I havent tried anything with the 270 yet. I have the setting just like Mike said and couldn't get it to work
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: External flash

The 430EX RT-II has both radio and optical wireless capability. Because your camera can only use optical, make sure the flash in in optical slave mode. 

 

The 270EX only has optical slave, so try it and see if it works

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-19-2017

Re: External flash

1549332215716_0__IMG_000000_000000.jpg0__IMG_000000_000000.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-19-2017

Re: External flash

These are the settings I have on my camera and the flash. Maybe it might help out ? Am I doing something wrong?? 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: External flash

[ Edited ]

It looks like you have OPTICAL wireless enabled. It should work.

 

Just double check the channel and group to make sure it is all the same.

 

Review all the steps below to make sure you didn't miss anything:

 

430ex.jpg

430ex2.jpg

430ex3.jpg

430ex4.jpg

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-19-2017

Re: External flash

I called a local camera shop and they said the flash on the camera needs to go off to trigger the speedlight. Is this true? I have the camera and speedlight on the same chanel and it won't go off. I just want the speedlight to go off without using the camera flash
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: External flash

Yes, the camera's built-in flash must fire to trigger the slave in optical mode. 

 

BUT.... The way you have it set, you will see the flash fire, but it is actually sending coded optical light signals just before the slave flash fires, and you should not see the light from the built-in flash in your photo. 

 

5D3_1150.JPG

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-19-2017

Re: External flash

Ok thanks
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement