cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

600ex-rt slave flashes randomly stop firing - please help!

PhotoMouse
Apprentice

I've scoured the interent trying to find a solution for the problem I'vve been having and I can't find any posts where people are having the exact problem I am. I'm hoping maybe someone on here has had this problem and might be able to propose a solution. Thanks in advance for any help!

I have 4 Speedlite 600EX-RTs I've been using for about the last 2 years with very few issues until recently. When shooting events I typically use two on cameras (5d Mark III's) and two as slave flashes for room lights. Everything will be working fine and then at some point I look down and realize my room flashes are not firing.  The on camera flash will work and the link light will still be green but the slave flashes won't fire until I power off the master flash, then they will start working again for a while until they randomly stop firing. Usually during something important like a speech or the hora.

Just for clarifcation, the ID #'s are all set the same, I keep them all on auto channel, I'm using newish eneloop batteries and I feel like the problem starts too early in the day for it to be battery related. 99% of the time I am on manual across the board and my power on the slave flashes is never more than 1/32 or so.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

14 REPLIES 14

diverhank
Authority

I haven't encountered this problem myself.  There are a couple of things I can think of:

1. Not sure why you choose to use Auto Channel.  I'd manually set the channel for your 4 flashes.  This eliminate one potential problem with communication.  A middle channel seems to be a safe bet. You can also check for an optimum channel ahead of time.