cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

580exII acting as fill light

Mrslickk
Apprentice
Hey there, I am new to using speedlites as I normally shoot with natural lighting or studio and I have rented a 580-exII speed light To take some pictures at my sisters birthday. I am shooting with my 5d mk2 and when I attach the speedlite and put it on Ettl I am still getting very slow shutter speeds I'll go from about 1/40 without the speedlite to 1/60 with it. What am I doing wrong?
6 REPLIES 6

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

1/60 is faster than 1/40.

What mode are you in?

Mrslickk
Apprentice
Ettl and manual. Yes it does get faster when turning the speedlite on but aren't flashs supposes to help significantly

@Mrslickk wrote:
Ettl and manual. Yes it does get faster when turning the speedlite on but aren't flashs supposes to help significantly

The E-TTL algorithm is extremely averse to blown highlights. In a dark room it will provide only enough light to illuminate the lightest object near the camera. So the rule you have to go by is, "All flash is fill." What I do is put the camera in Tv mode; set the shutter speed at or below the sync speed; and let the aperture go as wide as it needs to. If the environment isn't too dim, it works pretty well.

One thing you can do, if the room is small enough, is set the camera as above, but use bounce flash. Blown highlights aren't nearly as much of a concern, and you get much more even lighting.

Or you can set the flash and the camera to manual and use trial and error to determine the right exposure. One thing you don't want to do with an E-TTL camera is set the flash mode to TTL. The flash will always fire at full power, end everything will be washed out.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Mrslickk
Apprentice