cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

550 ex not recycling quickly enough

sw949
Apprentice

My 550EX is great paired with my 5DmIII but sometimes it doesn't recycle quickly enough. I am a wedding photographer and for the first dance I need to be able to shoot quickly. I'm generally shooting in ETTL if that matters. I always put fresh batteries in at the beginning of every event, and I generally only use the flash for the dance floor so the batteries are not spent by the first dance. I hate missing a great shot b/c my flash didn't fire!! Anyone have advice? 

7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

Get an external battery pack.  Absolute necessity for wedding Togs.

Also, in general, if your flash is struggling then up your exposure so it doesn’t have to work as hard (i.e. raise your ISO a stop or two and lower the shutter speed – if you can – a stop or two to compensate).  Using 1/4 or less can make a big

Your recycle times will be way shorter if you use the auxillary power pak (if that model has the port it plugs into). I think the current model is CP E4 (which I have) and it's quite fast getting full power blasts. It is NOT just a battery pak, it has electronics to supercharge the flash which is how it cuts the recycle time.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

As Skirball and cipoco have pointed out -- the trick is to use external battery power with the flash.  That will _really_ speed up the recycle time.

Incidentally... another factor that controls recycle power is the amount of energy the flash had to dump when it fired.  If you're on manual and firing at full power then it's going to be a long recycle time and really eat the batteries.  Do you shoot E-TTL and/or if shooting manual are you using full power or are you dialed back a bit?

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

hsbn
Whiz