cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speedlight 430ex ii on a 6D - aperture blinking!!???

Maria
Enthusiast

Hoping someone can help me understand what is going on here...   I'm still learning about using my flash so maybe expecting the wrong thing.... I have my camera set to Tv, and auto ISO, the lights are low in the living room and i take a shot of my sleeping black and white dog. The camera beeps to say it is in focus. Camera takes the shot at 1/125, f/4, ISO 8000.  Picture somes out a bit dark. I then attach my speedlight... try to take the same shot and now the aperture is flashing??? ISO tries to use 400 so that makes sense - since it's underexposed ... so i then set the ISO myself to 8000 or higher and the Aperture is still flashing (which i know means that the exposure is not correct as far as the camera is concerned).  Why is it happy with the scene without the flash but when i add the flash it's not? I tried a lot of shutter speeds (much slower) in combination with higher ISOs (still in Tv proority) and stilll i have a flashing aperture.  I would have thought that since the flash is set to ETTL the camera recognizes that it is there and will provide the necessary light??? is this not the case?  If i ingore the flashing aperture (which by the way is always reading f/4 for this shot) and bounce the flash the shot comes out well.  if i aim directly at the dog it way over exposes (as you'd expect).  Why is the aperture flashing when the flash is on/attached but not when it's off? 

4 REPLIES 4

ScottyP
Authority
It will do that. The flash will compensate anyway if it is able. Dial in a + Flash Exposure Compensation and your subject will brighten up. The background will end up still dark. Dial in a + exposure compensation if you want a brighter background.

Also I would not let it give me ISO 8000 unless it was a special unavoidable situation. Image quality suffers too much to use that in normal situations.
Scott