cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is a good post processing software that isn't overly expensive?

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

I am starting to shoot my dslr in the 'raw' mode, but I do not have any post processing software.

I do not want to spend a lot on it as I am just a hobbyist, but don't really know what the options are out there?

I have heard of lightroom software and most people like it.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you,

David

10 REPLIES 10

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

Canon Digital Photo Professional that comes FREE with all Canon dSLRs is very good.

Adobe Lightroom is the most popular. You can buy a stand alone version for about $150, or Adobe has a subscription deal for photographers where you get Lightroom and Photoshop for $10 per month.

Adobe PhotoShop Elements comes with Adobe Camera RAW for about $80.

@kvbarkley wrote:

Adobe PhotoShop Elements comes with Adobe Camera RAW for about $80.

That's what I paid for Photoshop CS6.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

The least expensive route to go is free.  Use Canon's Digital Photo Professional 4, which is free to download with a camera serial number. In fact, Canon has a suite of applications that you can download from their support site.  When you shoot photos in RAW format, which is a digital equivalent of a film negative, you use DPP to generate JPEG files, almost just as you would use a darkroom to develop negatives into photo prints.  Adobe Lightroom serves the same purpose, and a bit more.