Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2020
Accepted Solution

Shutter count check.

Hi,

 

What software program are you using for shutter counts check for a Canon 7d Mark II?

VIP
Posts: 11,433
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter count check.


@Vimmer wrote:

Hi,

 

What software program are you using for shutter counts check for a Canon 7d Mark II?


I do not use any of them.  Some of them rewrite your firmware, which is NOT GOOD.  Send the camera to Canon Service for a cleaning and check out.  Ask them to give a shutter count.  Having it on a written report from Canon is best.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2021

Shutter Count Less Than Image Count?? How?

I just purchased a Canon 5D Mark II on Ebay with a Shutter Count of 1,751.  My first image number was 7,858.  I ran my own shutter count after a few pics and it is 1,758.  How is that possible?  If the Shutter Count was greater than the Image Count, that's explainable because of the reset .  But less than?  What am I missing?ShutterVsImageCount.jpg

VIP
Posts: 11,433
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter Count Less Than Image Count?? How?

[ Edited ]

@JimCee69 wrote:

I just purchased a Canon 5D Mark II on Ebay with a Shutter Count of 1,751.  My first image number was 7,858.  I ran my own shutter count after a few pics and it is 1,758.  How is that possible?  If the Shutter Count was greater than the Image Count, that's explainable because of the reset .  But less than?  What am I missing?ShutterVsImageCount.jpg


Thanks for posting this.  Those software apps simply do not work reliably.  

 

[EDIT]  It almost sounds like the software is reading the shutter count on the current battery.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2021

Re: Shutter Count Less Than Image Count?? How?

Thanks for the reply Waddizzle!  I appreciate the info.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Shutter count check.

[ Edited ]

The file numbering and the shutter count have nothing to do with each other.

Screenshot_20210120-080150.jpg

DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 50/1.2, 85/1.8, 85/1.4 IS, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2021

Re: Shutter count check.

[ Edited ]

Thanks for your response, Peter.  I'm aware of the reset feature, and that there is no direct correlation.  Even so, since shutter count increments and can't be reset, it must always be equal or greater than the image count.

 

Example:  New camera:  Shutter Count 10 = Image Count 10.  Reset Image Count, and shoot 10 more pics.  Result:  Shutter Count 20, Image Count 10.  This could go on ad infinitium, but I can't envision a case were the Shutter Count would ever be less than the Image Count unless the Shutter Count had been reset/hacked or 'turned over' from say 100k.

 

btw, the memory card is new, never before used, and was formatted in camera before I took my tests shot.  The battery was out of the camera and fully charged before use.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Shutter count check.

[ Edited ]

You wrote that you bought it on Ebay. Then it doesn't matter if you have a formatted card or not. The file numbering will continue from the previous owner.

There is a firmware bug with the shutter count in 5D II, but you will probably never notice it and it doesn't start before the shutter count reaches 2048.

DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 50/1.2, 85/1.8, 85/1.4 IS, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2021

Re: Shutter count check.

Thanks, Peter.  I don't want to beat a dead horse and I am appreaciative of you taking the time to shed light on this dilema.

 

The problem is that the Image Count, regardless of how it incremented and regardless of how many times it was reset should never be greater than the Shutter Count. It can be equal (if never reset), but never greater unless it stopped incrementing at some point or it was reset, neither of which should happen.  Maybe that's the bug you mentioned?

 

 

 

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Shutter count check.

[ Edited ]

If I own a 5D II with a shutter count of 1000 and a 5D III with a shutter count of 8000, then I put my card from 5D III in 5D II and take a picture, the file number will be 8001. Then I sell 5D II to you. You format a card and take a picture that will be nr 8002 but the shutter count is just 1002.

The shutter count bug I am talking about is something difference and as I wrote, will not happen before 2048. When you reach 2048 you can try it. Take 10 pictures, remove the battery and check the shutter count after that. 5D II stores the shutter count in RAM before saving it to eeprom. After 256 pictures it will save from RAM to eeprom. It means that if you have a count of 2048 and take 255 pictures and remove the battery you will still have a shutter count of 2048.

DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 50/1.2, 85/1.8, 85/1.4 IS, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement