Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-23-2013

SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

[ Edited ]

Hello, today I purchased a SX280 HS for my wife.  I was waiting for the update on the firmware to fix the battery issue and it came out without complaints, so I went to BB to get one.  I came home with it, charged the additional battery and went to update the firmware.  I followed all the steps, but when I get to play back mode in step 4: you cannot scroll down to Firmware.  The menu stops at transition, so the instructions posted are just making me more angry?  And, yes, I checked to make sure the SN of this unit needed the update and according to their website it does.  OS X 10.8.4 on a Macbook, easy to get the firmware onto the card.  


Any ideas, at this point, I'm willing to cut bait and take it back and get a Sony Point and Shoot.  I liked the Canon for the larger pixels and D6 processor, but the firmware is buggy and the camera is just starting to really frustrate me with not allowing me to access the firmware build.

 

I've reset the camera to factory, any thoughts?

 

Thanks 


Mike

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-23-2013

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

Well, I found out why it wasn't working, it is the way a Mac formats the card. I tried the same steps over on my work PC on Monday morning and it worked 1st try.

Lesson learned, they may post the Mac version, but don't trust it.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2013

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

[ Edited ]
I'm having the same problem! It makes me crazy!!

 

I put the card to USB memory card and the file system is FAT32.

I have windows 7 64bit.

 

I did it like 10 times and nothing! I don't have the firmware option.

 

Can someone help me please? I can record video with this camera.

 

Thanks

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

Make sure you don't turn on the camera. Turn the camera off, insert the SD-cart, (don't turn it on) press PLAYBACK and press MENU. This will enable the menu item FIRM UPDATE.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2013

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

Thank you so much! I was having the same problem on my Macbook Pro (so frustrating!), but when I did as you said and just pressed the playback button, it worked like a charm! Now hopefully the firmware update fixes the video/battery issue. Thanks again!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-31-2013

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

Sander,

thank you so much for taking the time to post the wonderful information. I had been going crazy for the last hour trying to get the format option to come up.

Kudos!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-23-2015

Re: SX280 HS Firmware update - not an option on the menu

Thanks sander! It helps to read the instructions! I did not do it like this and did not have the option. When you do it in this order it works perfectly!!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement