Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

RE EOS Utility

[ Edited ]

Hi

 

I am now on my third canon DSLR after  my  last two were stolen including my nifty fifty,

Canon EF 70-300 mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM Lens etc.   Anyway I now have another  Canon 77D and purchased a second  had (not used) EFS 18 - 135mm Nano USM lens, which I love, however, I havent got a card reader and when get connect my camera (wifi/bluetooth turned off) EOS Utility starts in wifi mode

 

canon.npg.png 

 

 

Windows recognises my  camera, My question is how to get out of wifi mode? 

 

Thanks in advanve

 

Adrian Suri

VIP
Posts: 8,359
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: RE EOS Utility

There is a program called the EOS Launcher, which is a Windows Service that detects the camera, and then launches either EOS Utility 2 or 3, depending upon the model of your camera.  The Launcher seems to want to initially default to Wi-Fi mode on some machines, even though you connect via USB and it detected your camera via USB. 

 

You just need to close that program, and then go into the start menu and manually start the EOS Utility 3.  Once you give it that initial startup, it should automatically launch in the future.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: RE EOS Utility

[ Edited ]

SORRY SHOULD HAVE INCLUDED i AM CONNECTING WITH USB 3 (Toigh have tried  usb 2)  OS is windows 10 . profesional.  I tried closing the notification but when I launched cannon utility the wifi dialog reopened.  I do not think it's a driver issue as the camera lense registration tool works ok 

 

thanks again

 

Adrian

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,827
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: RE EOS Utility

I think the gold double arrow circle in lower left means there is an update available. Try clicking  that and see what happens.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: RE EOS Utility

Thanks tried that, as  well as using my back pci USB 3 card still without luck, very  fustrating 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,827
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: RE EOS Utility

Go into the program folder and find the Canon Utilities folder . Open it and select EOS Utility 2 and see what happnes.

 

2019-02-16.png

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: RE EOS Utility

I get an error message thus

 

error.png

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,827
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: RE EOS Utility

Give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 8,359
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: RE EOS Utility


@adriansuri wrote:

I get an error message thus

 

error.png



You need to launch EOS Utility 3.  The EOS Utility 2 would not recognize your camera, so that message is correct.  

If there is no shortcut for it in the START menu, then go into Windows Explorer, and look for the a Canon folder within the Programs folders.  The EXE file you want should be named “EOS Utility 3.exe”.  

While you are in there, you might want to right click on the file name to create a Desktop shortcut.  You could even add a shortcut for it to the START menu, once you create one on the Desktop.

Again, once you get it to launch the first time, it should find it in the future.  Also, be aware that the USB ports can go to sleep after a couple of minutes of inactivity, and so can your camera.  Make sure that you turn the camera on just before you manually launch the application.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,359
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: RE EOS Utility


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Go into the program folder and find the Canon Utilities folder . Open it and select EOS Utility 2 and see what happnes.

 

2019-02-16.png


You do not seem to have a shortcut for the EOS Utility 3, either.  

I see “EOS Utility”, which is the desktop utility for EOS Launcher Service.  I see “EOS Utility 2”, which is the older version.  All recent cameras seem to use the EOS Utility 3.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement