Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-31-2017

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

I did find a solution, not the Best One, but it Works for me.

 

I use the Canon DPP 4 to create a jpg and the jpg is transfered i full resolution.

 

I do very litle in DDP 4, but things that DDP 4 does very fine. 

 

It works for me, but ofcause i need Booth my iPad Pro and my MacBook to create a picture. 

 

I was pleased to learn that Canon had made a version of DPP for iPad, but NOT so pleased to lern that it only supports the raw files from the new no mirror camera.. 😲😡

 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-07-2019

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

Thanks for the f/u. As you mention DPP is an option BUT in my personal case not suitable since I own a Rebel Sl2 and the app only supports Raw CR3 not CR2. I’ll justbstick with us8ng my Apple lightning card reader and simply import my files. Thx again.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-31-2017

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

The DPP 4 also supports CR2 files. The iPad version dpp Express does not support nothing. The Canon people must have very warm hands, because they are sitting on Them Thise years. 😖
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2018

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

Don't you think it would be useful to be able to send full size photos? I don't understand why Canon would limit this functionality. My wife has a Fujifilm camera and she can transfer full size photos seamlessly. 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-24-2015

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

is there really still not a way to send raw files? does it not ask if you want the original file or not? it needs to be worded differently, because that definitely to me does in no way imply that it would not be a raw file since the original was indeed a raw file.

Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,660
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

The only way to convert RAW files on the go (at this time) is with DPP Express for the iPad. Learn more HERE

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-15-2020

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

I don't need the raw file transferred. I'd be completely okay if it made a .jpg from the raw file and sent that over. I simply want full sized so I can crop from my phone. My galaxy s10 has a fine time dealing with images the size of what the 5d mark iv is capable of making. Why is this limitation set? 

Does anyone from canon read this forum? This is severely limiting. Phones are starting to completely surpass what these professional bodies can do. We need to be able to publish quickly from the field. 

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,942
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller


@LonnieRay wrote:

I don't need the raw file transferred. I'd be completely okay if it made a .jpg from the raw file and sent that over. I simply want full sized so I can crop from my phone. My galaxy s10 has a fine time dealing with images the size of what the 5d mark iv is capable of making. Why is this limitation set? 

Does anyone from canon read this forum? This is severely limiting. Phones are starting to completely surpass what these professional bodies can do. We need to be able to publish quickly from the field. 


It is your phone.  Be default, the iPhones downsize the size of JPEG files.  I do not know how to resolve it, but there is some setting within the phone to change the behavior.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-15-2020

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

I just figured it out. I had to save a jpg version in the camera. That's in the image quality menu. Once I selected that, it sends the .jpg that is generated alongside the .raw file while shooting. I wish it could generate on the fly so I wouldn't need to generate a bunch of unnecessary data but the workaround is worth it. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: How can I transfer full size images using Camera Connect? I always makes them smaller

When the camera creates a RAW image, it inserts a preview image in jpeg format with a size of 2400x1600px (in older cameras, the size is even smaller). This is provided by the RAW file format. When Canon Camera Connect asks the camera to hand over a full-size image from RAW, the camera simply extracts this ready-made JPEG image from RAW and gives it to the phone.
Once again: no one is converting anything - everything is already made when creating RAW. Simply extract and transfer the previously made preview. Therefore, the problem is in the camera's firmware.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement