Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Hi,

 

I tried to use the EOS utility 2 with my Canon 70D, but apparently the software is not recognizing the camera and I was not able to figure out how to solve it. I also have used with my T2i, but it worked fine. I'm using windows 10.

 

Does anyone know how to solve this problem?

 

Cheers

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

How are you trying to connect? Via WiFi or USB cable? I forget whether the 70D has WiFi; but if it does, you probably won't be able to connect via USB cable unless WiFi is turned off first. The camera's instruction manual should tell you how to do that.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Hey Robert,

 

Thank you for replying.... Yeah I'm trying to connect via USB and yes, my wifi is turned off. Do you have any other suggestions?

 

Sincerely

Tiago

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)


@tsouza29 wrote:

Hey Robert,

 

Thank you for replying.... Yeah I'm trying to connect via USB and yes, my wifi is turned off. Do you have any other suggestions?

 

Sincerely

Tiago


The 70D is a fairly recent camera, so you might try EOSU 3 instead of EOSU 2. The way EOSU 3 works is that it decides, based on the camera it sees, whether you need EOSU 2 or 3 and starts the correct one. Correspondingly, installing the latest edition of EOSU 3 will install or update EOSU 2 as well. At least that's how it is on a 64-bit Windows computer.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Hi Robert,

 

I've tried EOSU3 as well and I had exactly the same problem. I found a "workaround" that was using the wifi connection to make the EOSU to see my camera. Sending photos to PC is a way slower than via USB, but it worked at least. I'll keep trying to connect it via USB and if I have any news I post it here to all

 

Cheers

Tiago

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)


@tsouza29 wrote:

Hi Robert,

 

I've tried EOSU3 as well and I had exactly the same problem. I found a "workaround" that was using the wifi connection to make the EOSU to see my camera. Sending photos to PC is a way slower than via USB, but it worked at least. I'll keep trying to connect it via USB and if I have any news I post it here to all

 

Cheers

Tiago


Are you using the same USB cable that worked with your T2i? Some USB cables have the charging wires but not the data wires. Obviously such a cable wouldn't work for you.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Yeah Robert.

 

I'm using the cable of my Wacom tablet, but I've tried with different ones and unfortunatelly I had the same results for all the cables I tried.

 

Do you recommend me to update the firmware of my camera for the last version?

 

Cheers.

VIP
Posts: 8,473
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)


@tsouza29 wrote:

Yeah Robert.

 

I'm using the cable of my Wacom tablet, but I've tried with different ones and unfortunatelly I had the same results for all the cables I tried.

 

Do you recommend me to update the firmware of my camera for the last version?

 

Cheers.


Try disabling the Wi-Fi when you try to connect to USB?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Yeah @Waddizzle....

 

Firstly I was trying to connect with the wifi disabled without success... I will try to connect in a windows 7 to see if my main problem is on the camera, EOSU or the windows version.

 

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-01-2017

Re: Eos utility is not working (Canon 70D)

Having the same issue but with WiFi. It:

 

- sees camera on computer

- click connect

- click connect on camera

- the pair window disappears on the computer and then nothing else comes up. It won't open or work with manual open on EOS Utility 2 or 3. I tried different versions.

 

Maybe the camera needs a firmware update? I saw one 9/30/16. I have a Mac.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement