Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

I think I have solved the problem regarding connecting 70D to the laptop with windows 10 via Wifi

 

This is what I did. Hope works for you. 

 

1- Connect laptop to home wifi

2- Open the wifi menu from the right lower corner and turn on the Hotspot. 

3- Configue the hotspot including the network name and a passoword

4- Connect your camera to the hotspot and NOT TO THE HOME WIFI!

 

Chees!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-14-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Hi all,

 

I have read the thread and have the same problem - my EOS M6 will work with my android phone for remote shooting  by WiFi but the Canon DPP software won't see it for remote shoooting.  Downloading is not an issue, I can take the SD card out for that, but I would like to be able to shoot from computer.   So, all Canon software is freshly loaded and reloaded, and I am on Windows 10, I've loaded the Media Pack.  Before I give up on this - is there a step by step solution that would work for me please?  The client/server bits might be what I need, but I don't know how to change that on my computer or camera.

 

I know I could just use the android phone as a work around but I would prefer to use the Canon software on my laptop if it can be made to work.

 

Thanks

Ian

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-14-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Further to my problem above.  After some more work I can now download images from camera to laptop via WiFi - both to my Win10 laptop and an older one running Win7.  The problem is that DPPv4 does not recognise my M6 camera for remote shooting, so I think this may be a Canon software issue rather than a connection issue.   It says 'unsupported camera' in the remote shooting page of DPP.  Coming to the conclusion that the EOS utility is not working - it fails to see the camera in Win10 and Win7. 

 

Having read more online it seems Canon software is full of problems and most people seem to have to resolve these by themselves but I am failing to see a common pattern in the solutions.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

I just bought a Rebel 6T and downloaded the recommended EOS Utility.  My Windows version is Windows 10 Home version 1709 build 16299.125.

 

When I click on the desktop icon to start the utility for the first time after plugging in the camera and turning it on nothing happens.  I followed the instructions in the pdf manual to disable autoplay for the camera.  The camera is showing up just fine in file explorer.

 

I read that AVG sometimes causes problems with the utility.  I disabled the AVG  file shield, but that didn't help.

 

If I am unable to reslove this issue with the utility, would there be a problem with using file explorer to upload photos?

 

Thank you for any help with this.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


@Baycreekgal wrote:

I just bought a Rebel 6T and downloaded the recommended EOS Utility.  My Windows version is Windows 10 Home version 1709 build 16299.125.

 

When I click on the desktop icon to start the utility for the first time after plugging in the camera and turning it on nothing happens.  I followed the instructions in the pdf manual to disable autoplay for the camera.  The camera is showing up just fine in file explorer.

 

I read that AVG sometimes causes problems with the utility.  I disabled the AVG  file shield, but that didn't help.

 

If I am unable to reslove this issue with the utility, would there be a problem with using file explorer to upload photos?

 

Thank you for any help with this.


I seem to recall that EOSU requires the Windows Media Player, which I believe the Home Edition doesn't have. Apparently you have to download it from the Microsoft Web site and install it yourself.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-09-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

You also need to set the "Compatibility Mode" on 'EOS Utility.exe'. Make sure you use the one in C:\Program Files (x86)\Canon\EOS Utility. (There is another one further down in an EU2 folder). RIght-click on the .Exe file and select 'Properties". Click on the "Compatibility" tab and set Compatibility Mode to "Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 8". WIndows 8 is selected from a drop-down list.

 

I'm running Windows 10 Pro, and that was all I had to do to get it working.

 

Richard.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-14-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I tried compatability mode but it didn't work for me.

 

Ian

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Thank you so much, Bob and Richard for your quick responses.  I tried the compatibility mode first because it seemed the easier of the two fixes.  It worked!  Now I just need to get used to the differences in my new camera. My Rebel XTi was worn out after 11 years.  Let the fun begin.

 

Dawn

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

@firefly2560 wrote:

You also need to set the "Compatibility Mode" on 'EOS Utility.exe'. Make sure you use the one in C:\Program Files (x86)\Canon\EOS Utility. (There is another one further down in an EU2 folder). RIght-click on the .Exe file and select 'Properties". Click on the "Compatibility" tab and set Compatibility Mode to "Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 8". WIndows 8 is selected from a drop-down list.

 

I'm running Windows 10 Pro, and that was all I had to do to get it working.

 

Richard.


I don't think you should have to do that. I use EOSU under Windows 10 Pro, and I don't have compatibility mode turned on.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-09-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

It depends on a lot of things, including which update of Windows 10 you have. I updated to Windows 10 about July 2016, and the EOS Utility worked perfectly. It only started to play up a few moths ago, after one of Microsoft's Windows 10 updates. That's when I had to use compatibility mode. I've had a few updates since then, but compatilbilty mode is still working. It might also work if I turn it off, but I'm not going to risk it. It's possible that WIndows 10 in Australia is different to WIndows 10 in USA.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement