Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?


@squaka wrote:

Is EOSU3 also available for the 70d? I did not try tis option...


I don't think so.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

I also wanted to say that I wasn't able to get it to work again by just disabling the antivirus - I had to uninstall the whole program. When it still wouldn't work, I went through a few more threads on this and found the DPP sometimes needs to be installed (for whatever reason). After installing that, and uninstalling the antivirus (AVG), I was able to get it working again. Thanks to everyone for replying in this thread. I never would have figured it out otherwise.

-Beth

VIP
Posts: 11,223
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

If you have AVG you need to except all versions of EOSU.  They will be in seperate folders.  EOSU, EOSU2 and/or EOSU3.

Excepting one in AVG will not do the trick.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

Thanks for the info. I was going to try a reinstall of AVG today so I'll try that.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-06-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

Thank you, sparkycpg! I was really stuck on this one Smiley Happy

 

I do use AVG, and this turned out to be the guilty party, responsible for EOSU (all versions?) not properly launching/initializing..

 

I created exceptions for all EOSU versions, including all namesakes in the various subfolders (EOSLauncher, EOSU, EOSU2) in AVG -> Options -> Advanced Settings -> Exceptions - and EOSU launched/worked fine after that. No need to uninstall versions and whatnot.

 

Your considerable amount of time troubleshooting this has been extremely well spent, in my opinion! Am sure other visitors here may agree..

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

Thanks.  I created exceptions for all three programs and it is working great for me as well.  You might all want to know I have reported this to AVG, they have acknowledged it and are in the process if fixing it.  They said it should be fixed in their next update.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

Thanks a lot for posting this.

I discovered that EOS Utility stopped working while I was away for 8 weeks photography. A major PAIN!

I only found your post after spending hours rebooting, re-installing Canon software, cleaning the registry, etc.

 

Did you find out how to prevent AVG from blocking EOSU, without having to disable AVG?

 

R

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

[ Edited ]

OK.. reading the other entries, I fixed it in AVG.

 

To make things a bit clearer do this:

Options>Advanced Settings>Update>Exceptions

 

Then "Add exception", Select exception type = "Application or file"

 

Then choose the .exe files for the Canon utilities (one at a time). The only box that needs to be checked is"Identity Protection" . Leave the others so scanning will still take place.

 

Hit OK.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2015

Re: EOS Utility - not launching?

Yes that is the proper way to do.  Mine has been working fine after I did this.  I did report it to AVG and there were suppose to fix it.  I don't know if they ever did.  I have not removed the exception to try it.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement