Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2020
Accepted Solution

EOS Utility 3

I have tried downloading the Canon EOS Utility 3 on my windows 10 PC.  I have 1 and 2 downloaded.  When the download is complete, the Readme3 file is there but bo shortcut to the utility.  When I try to load it again, it says it is already loaded.  When i go to the directory with the other 2 or search for the .exe file I do not find anything.  I can however, uninstall the EOS Utility 3.  After I do, the same thing happens again.  I can only use the Download Pictures on 2 I used to be able to do remote shooting with it,  I am hoping Utility 3 will fix that if I can ever get it loaded.  I am using an EOS Rebel SL2...  THANKS

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,592
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility 3

I do not know what you meant by "I have 1 and 2 downloaded."

 

I believe the SL2 only works with the EOS Utility 2.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2020

Re: EOS Utility 3

I mean I have valid menu options for EOS Utility and EOS Utility 2 but no menu option to select EOS Utility 3 even though I allegedly downloaded it and there is an EOS Utility 3 ReadMe option...

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,455
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: EOS Utility 3

[ Edited ]

@bpalansk wrote:

I mean I have valid menu options for EOS Utility and EOS Utility 2 but no menu option to select EOS Utility 3 even though I allegedly downloaded it and there is an EOS Utility 3 ReadMe option...


The "EOS Utility" is 3

 

EOS Utility 2 is 2

 

The SL2 appears to be supported by v3.12.10 (EOS Utility 3)

 

 EOS 800D, EOS Kiss X9 / EOS REBEL SL2 / EOS 200D, 

 

If you right-click on the item in the start menu > select more > open file location, you'll see it points to EU3..

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2020

Re: EOS Utility 3

No, unfortunately it points to EOS Utility 2.exe which is file version 2.14.20.0.  However, there appears to be a folder for EU3.  At least I've found the .EXE file.  I'll just create a shoirtcut to the Desktop.  THANKS  That will do it!  Bruce

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2020

Re: EOS Utility 3

Actually, it points to the original EOS Utility.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,592
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility 3


@bpalansk wrote:

No, unfortunately it points to EOS Utility 2.exe which is file version 2.14.20.0.  However, there appears to be a folder for EU3.  At least I've found the .EXE file.  I'll just create a shoirtcut to the Desktop.  THANKS  That will do it!  Bruce


For whatever reason, the installer does not create a Start Menu shortcut for EOS Utility 3.  On most systems, the EOS Launcher Service wants to default to connecting to a LAN, which is odd because most users want to use USB.  Close out of the LAN version EOS Utility.

 

While the camera is still connected, and turned on, start the EOS Utility version that is correct for your camera.  Once you start the EOS Utility 2/3 while the camera is connected the first time, the EOS Launcher Service is able to get it figured out.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,455
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: EOS Utility 3

Yep.  I was wrong.

 

EU.png

 

Shortcut points to the EU in the system tray. 

 

tray.png

 

Which then choses the correct version > 2 or 3 for you.  Thanks for correcting me guys.

 

2 or 3.png

 

 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-06-2020

Re: EOS Utility 3

THANKS!  All systems go (for now ;-)

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement