Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,863
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

"Is Canon reading these forums?"

 

Not really. It's moderated to make sure we don't get out of lineSmiley Happy, but it's not a technical help forum. It's user help. 

 

You could give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON and see if they have any ideas. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,863
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

Like the note at the bottom?

 

IMG_0703.PNG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-03-2017

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

Ah ok, I'll see if I can sent a bugreport somwhere for DPP (because I am convinced it is a bug).

I've worked with DPP for over 10 years and this never happened before.

It also looks like any adjustments to raw files saved with DPP3 are not recognized by DPP4.

 

The auto gamma does something similar as auto levels in Photoshop.

And it does not solve the problem (more the opposite actually).

I always set everyting manually ;-)

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,863
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

"It also looks like any adjustments to raw files saved with DPP3 are not recognized by DPP4."  This is true.

 

2017-07-04 (3).png

 

In your original screen shot, what software is that? The histograms look strange to me.

 

Have you tried other images? I will use Auto Gamma as a start and then adjust to taste. I haven't had any strange behaviors.

 

Original

 

2017-07-04 (1).png

 

AUTO

2017-07-04 (2).png

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,434
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect


Skies wrote:

Ah ok, I'll see if I can sent a bugreport somwhere for DPP (because I am convinced it is a bug).

I've worked with DPP for over 10 years and this never happened before.

It also looks like any adjustments to raw files saved with DPP3 are not recognized by DPP4.

 

The auto gamma does something similar as auto levels in Photoshop.

And it does not solve the problem (more the opposite actually).

I always set everyting manually ;-)


I don't think there's any bug  You probably have DPP 3 configured to display all images in sRGB on your computer terminal and DPP 4 configured to display them in their native form. By default, an Adobe RGB image will display incorrectly on an sRGB device. But DPP lets you correct for that and display all images in sRGB. I suspect that you have that option configured differently in DPP 3 and DPP 4.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-03-2017

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

Thanks again John for your input.

The software of the screenshot is Photoshop CC.

Your example has a pretty good result. I tried with a rainbow photo but that didn't go well Smiley Wink

 

@Bob:

Thank you,

I can't imagine that's the case because the export Tiff is identical in Photoshop, and all images look as they should in photoshop.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,434
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect


Skies wrote:

Thanks again John for your input.

The software of the screenshot is Photoshop CC.

Your example has a pretty good result. I tried with a rainbow photo but that didn't go well Smiley Wink

 

@Bob:

Thank you,

I can't imagine that's the case because the export Tiff is identical in Photoshop, and all images look as they should in photoshop.


Photoshop is probably set up to do an automatic conversion to the native gamut of the display device. Whether that's how images should look depends on your definition of the word "should". Check the Photoshop manual. I'll bet there's an option to do that conversion or not do it.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-03-2017

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

[ Edited ]

As I stated in the startpost the two images are both Adobe RGB and where exported with the same settings in DPP3 and 4. The actual image is not the same. I don't see how display settings (information that is not saved in the actual file) should get different export results. If this would be the case, it could be considered a bug as well since it's applying display settings in the file. (Compare it with recording a song where settings of the speakers are affecting the recorded audio, rather than only settings of the recorder.)

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,863
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

Hi Skies. I am an engineer, so I can't let things be mysteries Smiley Happy

 

I reinstalled DPP 3.15 and ran the following test. Adobe RGB was the adjustent work space (even though I usually use Wide Gamut RGB when I work in DPP):

 

1. open image in DPP3; process in RGB Tone Curve Assist

2. transfer that image to PS CC2017

3. open same image in DPP4; process in AUTO GAMMA

4. transfer that image to PS CC2017

 

Screenshots below in order 1, 2, 3, 4

 

2017-07-05.png

 

2017-07-05 (1).png

 

2017-07-05 (2).png

 

2017-07-05 (3).png

 

I think DPP4 does a better job, but I don't seea difference between DPP and PS image.

 

Is my test replicating your process?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: DPP4 Adobe RGB processed incorrect

With the latest version of DPP4 I am still seeing much darker shadows with RAW files from my 6D compared to the following:

- DPP3 save to JPEG

- DPP3 transfer to Photoshop

- extract embedded JPEG from CR2, viewed in Photoshop.

 

DPP4 produces darker shadows regardless of whether I

- view the image in DPP4 directly

- export to JPEG and view in Photoshop

- transfer to Photoshop directly.

 

The working profile is set to AdobeRGB and the display profile is set to my monitor profile in all applications. This is on Windows 10.

 

For some images the difference is significant so that relevant shadow detail is lost. Workarounds like increasing exposure or lifting the lower level of output as suggested here do not produce the same result as DPP3 either.

 

Any idea what is wrong here?

 

Thanks

 

Tom

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement