cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPP

DC65
Apprentice

I have a T4i and I have been looking at photo editing software. I'm interested in the DPP software, mainely because it's free.

The latest version 4, from what I can see only works with full frame cameras. I'm not quite sure if version 3.13.0 is still available.

I'm new to photogrophy and there is a lot I don't understand but I'm sticking with it.

Can anyone tell me if I should be persuing DPP or start saving up for Lightroom and a new computer?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Peter
Authority
Authority
It works with version 4. Start with that.

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19

Peter
Authority
Authority

@Peter wrote:

I would also suggest the freeware application " Paint Dot Net "  for photo editing, instead of Photoshop.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2 diebestetest

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.

Just what I needed, worked a treat, thank you!

imitchell119
Contributor

Hi,

I am noticing that I have higher quality images displayed in the "Crop and Rotate Images" but when I click on another tab (such as "Adjust Image Detail") the images looses a some sharpness, contrast, saturation.  This is true of the other tabs as well.

Only the "Crop and Rotate Images" tab has the noticeably higher quality.

Any thoughts on how to fix this (or what is causing this)?

DPP 4.9.20.0

Canon 40D RAW images

Thanks!

I'm probably oversimplifying things here, but I think I've seen similar behavior when using DPP4. And I believe DPP4 is working properly, or at least as well as it can under certain conditions or on a given computer.