cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPP

DC65
Apprentice

I have a T4i and I have been looking at photo editing software. I'm interested in the DPP software, mainely because it's free.

The latest version 4, from what I can see only works with full frame cameras. I'm not quite sure if version 3.13.0 is still available.

I'm new to photogrophy and there is a lot I don't understand but I'm sticking with it.

Can anyone tell me if I should be persuing DPP or start saving up for Lightroom and a new computer?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Peter
Authority
Authority
It works with version 4. Start with that.

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19

That is very odd that you notice a significant drop in sharpness when converting to JPG.  A JPG conversion with quality set to 10 should look very nice and very close in quality (including sharpness) to the displayed RAW image in DPP.  For printing, I export TIF files which are 10 to 15 times the size of a high quality JPG file but on the monitor a high quality JPG and TIF file look extremely close and as good as the displayed processed RAW file in DPP.

Are you viewing the converted JPG files in DPP or the computer's native JPG viewer?  Is it possible that the JPG viewer you are using is doing its own compression/quality loss?

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

At this point I'd try a little experiment. Set up your camera on a tripod outdoors under good sunlight conditions. Shoot a static scene with enough detail and contrast to judge for clarity and sharpness at the highest JPEG resolution and quality level. Then shoot the exact same scene as a RAW file using the same exposure settings. Keep the shutter speed up and stop the aperture down a bit to get things focused as sharply as possible.