Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

DPP won't open in Windows 8

Hi...

We can't get  Digital Photo Professional (v3.13.0.1) to open on our Windows 8, 64-bit machine.  We get the following message:

DPP windows 8 error message.JPG

 

We've uninstalled and reinstalled a couple of times, made sure the screen resolution is above 1024 x 768, and have tried using the compatibility troubleshooter to change DPP settings to run in 16-bit color, but nothing works.  Help!

VIP
Posts: 11,320
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

[ Edited ]

It must be a problem with your set-up as DPP runs well on my Win 8 machine.

If it makes any difference 16-bit is not 'high' color. Try setting your display to 32-bit and 1920x1080.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Thanks... the maximum resolution for the display is 1920 x 1040, and that's where we've set it... as for color depth, Windows 8 doesn't appear to show a way to select specific numbers.  And the only options within DPP are either 8-bit or 16-bit color.  We must be missing something obvious, but we're still at a loss.

VIP
Posts: 11,320
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Win 8 does not control the video settings. That will be on you video card. I am unfamiliar with 1920 x 1040. I didn't even know it existed.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Sorry!  That was 1920 x 1080 (not 1040).  I thought we needed to change the color depth, not video settings?  We did try the NVIDIA control panel but the only options were for controlling the 3D settings.  We'll try again, but not hopeful.  Maybe I can talk my husband into giving up DPP and using Lightroom...

VIP
Posts: 11,320
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Thumbs up on Light Room. It is leaps and bounds better than DPP.

But DPP works fine on Win 8 machines so I still suspect you have something set incorrectly. On your Nvidia Control panel you should have a Change Resolution. It is below the 3D Settings.

Mine is set at 1920x1080, which is the native format, 60hz and 32 bit which is the highest.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎05-17-2013

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Have you updated your driver for the video card lately?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Thanks... it's a brand-new laptop, but yes, we did update the drivers, just to be sure.  Thanks for the suggestion... we've given up on trying to get DPP to work, after trying everything we can think of.  I'm sure we're missing something, but we sure can't figure it out.

Product Expert
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Hi Bublynski,
This may be an issue with the way Windows magnifies the screen.

 

Please try this:
Right-click on the display and choose "Personalize".
In the next window that opens, choose "Display" and check the magnification.  If it's greater than 100%, choose 100%.  Now try the installation again.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

Re: DPP won't open in Windows 8

Thanks for this suggestion - the magnification was set to 150%, so we changed it to 100%... but we're still getting the same failure message when we try to open DPP.  We'll try a restart and maybe a reinstall of DPP and see if that helps.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement