Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-24-2019
Accepted Solution

DPP failed to start Photoshop

I am running DPP v4.7.21.0 on Windows 10.  I also run Photoshop Elements 2019.  I have imported RAW images to DPP but when I try the Transfer to Photoshop menu item in DPP I get an error message 'Failed to start Photoshop'.   Is there anything I can do to remedy this?

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

Greetings,

Try a repair install of Photoshop Elements.  Sounds like DPP doesn't think its installed.

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-24-2019

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

Hi there.  Thanks for the advice.  How do I do the repair install?

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

[ Edited ]

Start Menu > Control Panel > Programs and Features

 

Select Adobe Photoshop Elements in the list

 

Then change or repair (near top of applet).

 

If these options are not present, uninstall, restart the machine and reinstalll the program.  Make sure you have the installer, or media and the products serial number if a uninstall and reinstall is required.

 

Now retest opening PSE from DPP.

 

 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,756
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

[ Edited ]

CCB369ED-C48B-4470-9C00-C06321B4CAF3.png

 

Photoshop Elements is not the same as Photoshop. The DPP transfer to Photoshop function does not work with Elements. 

 

You can can use the Batch Transfer function and select Elements as the target. 

 

 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 11,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

Why not just start in PSE?  DPP doesn't know what PSE is, it knows Photoshop.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
VIP
Posts: 8,199
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

[ Edited ]

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Why not just start in PSE?  DPP doesn't know what PSE is, it knows Photoshop.


Because PSE comes with a crippled version of Adobe Camera Raw.  No lens correction.  All it does is convert file formats.   Since Adobe began their subscription model PSE was crippled and has become a total waste of money.  GIMP is more capable than PSE.  I would not recommend PSE to anyone.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 11,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

"I would not recommend PSE to anyone."

 

That's fine but it is just your opinion for whatever you think its worth.  I do recommend PSE as it is the best amateur editor available. Lens correction may be a deal breaker for a pro or advanced amateur but not for the vast majority of people. As a complete post editor DPP is not ready for prime time. Canon seems satified to keep it at that level.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
VIP
Posts: 8,199
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop


@ebiggs1 wrote:

"I would not recommend PSE to anyone."

.

As a complete post editor DPP is not ready for prime time. Canon seems satified to keep it at that level.


Obviously, you have not used PSE since Adobe began the subscription business model.  They crippled it.  Removed features.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 11,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DPP failed to start Photoshop

I don’t dispute that. But you are coming from a more pro background. It is the still the best for amateur photographers. It has all the feature they want and need. DPP doesn’t!

PSE is even the best for advanced folks .
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement