Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-24-2015

DPP 4 - HDR does not work

Hello all! I"ve used the HDR feature in my EOS 3d mk3 and it works fine. I wanted to try the HDR feature in DPP4 - and it does not work. Each time select the three photos to use, the error message "could not read image" appears. Anybody know why this is happening and if there is a work around? Using win 10 pro and udated to latest version of DPP (which did not fix the issue - 4.4.30.2). Thanks, Nelson Davis
VIP
Posts: 8,471
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

The HDR utility should be able to work with all image types supported by DPP. 

 

The only other possibility that I can think of is that the files are inaccessible, or that DPP doesn't have authorization to access the files at their current location.  Make sure that DPP is set to run with the highest authority and rights.  In previous versions of Windows it was called "run as Administrator".

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,913
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

Do you have 64 bit or 32 bit W10?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-24-2015

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

64 bit win 10 pro.
VIP
Posts: 8,471
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work


@nelsonsdavis wrote:
64 bit win 10 pro.

Is DPP4 able to process regular JPEG, or RAW, files...both before and after the upgrade? 

 

Are the files stored on your local hard drive, or on a remote drive?

 

Can you open the files without DPP, by double clicking on a filename in Windows Explorer?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-24-2015

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

Yes. I can open and edit in dpp, Picasa, etc. I just can't get the hdr utility from within dpp4 to work. I can do hdr in the camera, canon 5 Mk 3.

VIP
Posts: 8,471
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work


@nelsonsdavis wrote:
Yes. I can open and edit in dpp, Picasa, etc. I just can't get the hdr utility from within dpp4 to work. I can do hdr in the camera, canon 5 Mk 3.


That is odd, being able to edit files in DPP, but able to open them for a HDR merge. 

 

You haven't stated where the files are being stored, yet.  I would say re-install DPP4.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2018

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

Hello all !!!! I have the same problem. i'm shooting on EOS 200D, have the latest version (4.8.30.0) on windows 10 (32 bit). When i click on tools i dont see the start HDR tool. i tried alt + y when 2 or 3 pics are selected but still no luck. please help!!!

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,913
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

854C9140-429B-4BD3-B965-DD1CDBCD5E2C.jpegFeature not available with 32-bit W10. 

 

 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2018

Re: DPP 4 - HDR does not work

Thank you for highlighting. Could you suggest a quality free alternative?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement