cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Camera Connect Suggestion

AaronD
Enthusiast

I have read lots of posts about how to get Canon Connect to work, and yes I can get it to work--but when I really need it to work, like out on an assignment for a client, the connection is dropped and I find myself standing there staring at an iPad flipping through screens and waiting and flipping through more screens.  All this to say:

Why can't Canon make a remote app for iPad that connects instantly and reliably BY CABLE instead of flakey wifi?

And yes specifically iPad, not laptop.  The EOS Utility (I think that's what it's called) works great by cable connection, but a laptop in the field is an impossible hassle because I can't use a mouse.  A tiny track pad just doesn't work.

Final note:  I'm a photographer, not an IT department.

Just because I don't pose with a camera to my eye doesn't mean I'm not a dork.
13 REPLIES 13

@AaronD wrote:

Not essential, because my work around is to just not use the app.  It would be nice.

Which camera are you using?  Does it have both Bluetooth and Wi-Fi?  Your iPad can not connect to multiple hotspots at once.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I'm using the R with it.  Much improved over the 5Div but still flakey enough that I don't use it if I'm in a rush or with someone watching over my shoulder.  I try not to bumble more than necessary.  

What got me started on this was seeing the Hasselblad version of Connect is updated now--I've always thought that looked perfect with its cord directly into both iPad and camera.  But I really don't know.  

Too much time on my hands lately.

@AaronD wrote:

I'm using the R with it.  Much improved over the 5Div but still flakey enough that I don't use it if I'm in a rush or with someone watching over my shoulder.  I try not to bumble more than necessary.