Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

Give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-09-2017

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

Today I tried out a new a new canon interface cable and that was it. Kinda disappointed the cable included with my 1dx Mark ii gave out after just one use but the new cable was only 18$ on amazon and is working fine so I guess it's no big deal. Thanks to everyone who replied for helping out!
Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,702
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

[ Edited ]

Hi xeveserpere!

 

Did you call our US-based support team at 1-800-OK-CANON (800-652-2666)? If so, and it was determined your USB cable was at fault, they should be able to send you a new one, especially if it's within the warranty period. They're available from 8am to Midnight (ET) during the week and from 10am to 8pm (ET) on Saturdays. 

 

Saving $18 is saving $18! Smiley Wink

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-20-2018

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

got same problem with mine camera. however, it works fine on macbook, but windows version of EOS Utility dont recognize my 1dx mk ii. Tried to reinstall EOS, tried to use different usb cables in all different port, but no luck. Windows itself tho recognizes camera.

Tried to use adobe bridge, works fine for pictures, but it always corrupts a few videofiles. thats why I have to stick to EOS Utility 

 

HELP

Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,702
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

Hello, grirambay!

 

If you've updated your software to the most current version from our site HERE, and you're still having issues, you'll want to reach out to our support team at 1-800-OK-CANON (800-652-2666) for additional troubleshooting. They're available during the week from 8am to Midnight (Eastern Time), and Saturdays from 10am to 8pm (Eastern Time).

 

If you're outside of the USA, you'll want to contact Canon in your country or region. You'll find contact info on THIS site. 

 

We hope this helps point you in the right direction! 

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,178
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

"Any help is greatly appreciated."

 

I know this is of no help and I see these problems quite a bit.  But, I have connected a couple dozen different Canon and other brand cameras to several dozen computers and never had it fail.  Just lucky I guess but i feel for you.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

In lieu of direct camera connection you could use a card reader to download files. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2018

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

Try this link with media update from microsoft... in case you have windows 10.

 

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/3099229/media-feature-pack-for-windows-10-n-and-windows-10-...

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,150
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: Canon 1dx mrkii won't connect to computer.

Since this topic seems to come up from time to time here is what works for my 1DX and 1DX II. I use the Ethernet connection (more robust than a USB connector at a high duty cycle)  with EOS utility to transfer photos because I don't want to subject the CF and Cfast connectors to excessive cycling.

 

1.  Use the network "wizard" built into the camera for the initial connection. It may take several minutes for it to finish negotiating with your PC so give it time and at one point it will prompt you to start EOS utility if it isn't already running.  A notification will also pop up from your PC during the initial setup asking you to complete the connection to the camera by tapping the notification.  Depending upon what the later Windows updates have done it may also request you to allow a change in the Windows 10 firewall setting, allow this.

 

2.  The network wizard will set up your connection with a dynamic IP address. If you leave it set this way future connections will be very slow to initialize and may fail requiring you to run the network wizard again and go through the long process.  Once it sets up the initial setting write down the IP address and gateway it assigned and enter that into the camera as a static IP.

 

Once this is done, connecting the Ethernet cable and turning on the camera should cause the EOS utility to pop up within about 5 seconds or less.  Thanks to windows I had to repeat this process about 6 months after I initially set it up because of a windows update.  Going through the network wizard caused it to activate the "allow firewall changes" dialogue which didn't come up until then.  My firewall settings already allowed the Canon stuff to go through but there is something that changed in the Microsoft update that created a firewall issue that was resolved by letting the network wizard go through the process again.   I suspect it is more of the typical current MS Windows approach where important settings are hidden from the user until you dig deeply into the system so that when you think the firewall is letting an app through it really isn't.  Just another symptom of the overly complicated garbage that Windows has devolved into since its robust XP days.

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement