cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which paper type and brand is best with Canon Pixma Pro-100?

limvo05
Rising Star

Hi All,

I am new at this so I am trying to learn and do as much research on printers and printing papers as possible before I commit myself to getting one.

The printer I am looking at is the Canon Pixma Pro-100. I shoot with Canon 5Ds. While I would very much like to print some of favorite works on Metal sheet, I don't believe this printer does that, that said, I would very much like to print some 4x6 for general purpose, and some panaromic prints for display in my home. I believe the biggest print size this printer handle is 13x19. Wondering if you can configure the print size to say 9x18?

Also, what would be the best papers to use with this printer?

Thank you,

LV

2 REPLIES 2

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Largest print size for the Pro-100 is 16.54 x 26.61.

Red River paper offers panoramic paper in 8.5 x 25 inch size. Hahnemuehle also has panorama paper. in similar size.

The printer won't handle metal print media, but several paper suppliers have "metallic" surface paper.

To your title question - in my opinion there is no one answer. 

Red River, Canson, Hahnemuehle, Legion Paper, Ilford all make excellent paper and supply ICC profiles for their paper and the Pro-100. Papers have ifferent surface textures, different surface types. Once I started getting into printing I realized that, to me, printing is much more that just making a physical copy of your image. It is the final step in creating your image; for an image I care about I might try it on two or three different papers to see how it looks.