cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lack of EZ Photo Print PRO on the PRO-100 ONLY

paulvzo
Contributor

I've been using Canon printers for fifteen years, I think, so this is not so overly picky newbie observation.  For the last five years, iP4300 and 4500's, and a 9000 MK II.  All come with the Easy Photo Print EX, as does the PRO-100 printer.  Way too "EZ" for me, I can just use the built in printer dialogue boxes, thank you very much.  

Not so long ago I discovered the Easy Photo Print PRO, which requires either an Adobe product, or Canon's Digital Photo Professional.   Not having a Canon digital camera, I did find a source to download the original DPP 1.0, then upgraded straight off of an EOS Canon page. 

Very nice!  All of the dialogue boxes into one, or almost one screen.  And what is really worth the price of admission, the "Pattern Print."   What we old wet darkroom types called a "ring around."  Wow!  Fine tune your color profile w/o expensive profiling equipment. 

So yesterday I got a new PRO-100 which added the Print Studio Pro to the DPP.  Of course I check it out.  HORRIBLE!   First, I just HATE this trend of gray text on black backgrounds.  Who thought this *&*^$% up?  Form did not follow function.  Then, all the choices, which seem to be pretty much the same as the EZPP PRO, are packed into a long slider box on the right.  Said sliders are very narrow, very hard to grab and move. 

OK, I'll just no use this and continue with the EZPP PRO, right?  Wrong!  The latter recognizes both the iP4500 and the 9000, but not the PRO-100, while the new PSP sees all three printers.  Upon looking at all the current PRO printers, ONLY the PRo-100 does not list the EZPP PRO as compatible! 

What's up with that, Canon?  This is illogical and really frustrating, especially for a long time Canon fan leading the charge against the Epson lemmings.