cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PIXMA TS3522 No driver option to print on 8.5" x 11" glossy paper

titlemanager
Apprentice

Canon Software Developer Intellectual Capacity Catastrophic Fail

When choosing print options with any Canon printer.....if you choose glossy paper the paper size option will disable 8.5" x 11" in the dropdown list. I assume that was done because photos are usually standard sizes, and 8.5 x 11 is not a standard photo size. It should be. I have been printing on inkjet printers since the technology became available. Very rarely do I print family photos of standard sizes with my printer. I do everything else possible because I am a masterfully skilled image editor. I also write software. So I know that it actually took extra effort to write the code that would eliminate the option to choose 8.5 x 11 size when glossy paper is chosen.  

Hey Canon. This is a major fail. I have file cabinets full of 8.5 x 11 glossy photo paper. The only way to use it in a Canon printer is to cut it into standard photo frame sizes first. Exactly why  I am fully stocked with the paper. Here's a little (or very big) profit hint Canon. Scratch that code. The result would be that several hundred million human beings would start using their photo paper in your printers. Knock-knock. Is anybody home Canon?

10 REPLIES 10

titlemanager
Apprentice

By the way Canon. I am anything but a spectator. 

normadel
Authority
Authority

What do you mean by ANY Canon printer?

I have two Canon Pixma inkjets and a Canon multifunction laser printer. They all have 8.5x11 as a choice with glossy paper.  Canon makes 8.5x11 glossy inkjet paper. That IS a standard size with inkjet printers. 

What are you talking about?

So while the option is there you get an error code when you actually try to print with the media type as glossy and paper size 8.5 x 11. Mine wont print at all unless its 4 x 6.

Danny