Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

trhere is a blinking error shown in my printer Pixma MP830 it show error 6500 in the printer's front pannel, it also shows the error in my computers screen when trying to send files to print.

 

has any body had this problem?

 

thanks

 

J Carlos

Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,418
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

Hi, J Carlos!

 

Your printer's issue has been brought up before on our forum.  Please check out this thread for a solution.

 

We hope this helps!

 

-Danny in Support.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2014

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

I don't see a thread and I have the same problem
Moderator
Posts: 1,418
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

Hi, mtillwc!

 

The thread can be found right here.  The link should appear in gray text, slightly lighter in color than regular text.  If you're unable to click on the link, you click on the thread's full address, which is http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/Personal-Printers/My-Mp-830-is-showing-an-error-6500-and-I-don-t-know...

 

We hope this helps!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-16-2015

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

this is happening on my printer as well even though it was just printing a minute ago. The answer on the linked forum does not help. When I open the lid of the printer the ink cartridges are still hidden in the right hand side instead of coming out to check levels and installation. Any other suggestions?

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-29-2016

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

 
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2016

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

I followed the instructions but the ink is stuck all the way to the right. Any suggestions on how to clear this error 6500? Thank you
Moderator
Posts: 857
Registered: ‎10-12-2012

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

Hi, Tonyas!

Which printer model do you have?

If this is a time-sensitive matter, our US-based technical support team is standing by, ready to help 24/7 via Email at http://bitly.com/CanonEmail or by phone at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) weekdays between 10 AM and 10 PM ET (7 AM to 7 PM PT).

Thanks!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-05-2014

Re: how to fix error 6500 pixma mp830

I can confirm that replacing the logic board fixed this error for me. Luckily I had a couple of spare logic boards from old MP830 printers.

 

Unfortunately after replacing the board, another issue became apparent, and that is that the printer complained "Release the scanner lock switch and turn the power off and back on." The lock switch was not in the locked position though.

 

I re-plugged all the cables to the logic board, as this had once fixed that error for me. In so doing, I noticed that the ribbon cables were badly worn at the ends of the connectors, and this would no doubt be the result of a lot of plugging/unplugging while diagnosing a previous fault, and this one.

 

Most of those ribbon cables are a friction fit, meaning that each time you re-plug them, they get worn. Evidently they are not made to be re-plugged many times (cheap cables) and so after a while, many of the ribbons simply don't make connection any more. This resulted in the printer assuming that due to a lack of connection, the lock switch was unlocked. Unfortunately there's not much that can be done to replace the ribbon cables - each one is a different length and width, and getting to the other end of each cable would mean a very lengthy job disassembling both the scanner unit and the duplexing unit. Far more trouble than it's worth!

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement