Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

I did this, and it did not work. I have been able to scan from the Image Garden using the driver settings, and the problem came up only recently. I get the same message with every button I click on. The error message has no error number. Very frustrating!

Product Expert
Posts: 2,310
Registered: ‎07-28-2014

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

Hi dwl56,

 

What version of Windows or Mac OS X is installed on your computer?

 

Please note, Canon's Forum is not intended for immediate help, but a place to allow for the Community to give you assistance and feedback. For a quicker response, please use the link below to reach our friendly Technical Support Team:

http://Canon.us/ContactLI

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

My PC is running Windows 10. After posting my problem, I ran across a possible fix, in which I deleted my printer from the list of devices, then downloaded the driver from Canon (for about the 3rd time), and that apparently did the trick. I was able to use the scan driver to set up my scan, and things appear to be back to normal. 

 

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

I just discovered this problem this morning.  It was not a problem before.

 

I purchased my Canon MX922 in 2015.  And while the printer is pretty good, the software has been a disappointment.

The 'SCAN' button on the printer is useless. It acts like it is scanning, but no document is upload to my PC, as in Image Garden.  This used to work.  So I have used the Canon U scan utility.  Should not be so clumsy.

 

Wifi does not work.  It used to work,, after initial purchase.  Then when I moved, it no longer worked. It needs to be hard wired, which is an inconvenience since several devices use the printer. Should not be so clumsy.

 

Now, using this scan utility, I wake up this morning and I am having this same problem as the others have reported on this thread - I don't have the required priviliges to access the specified folder.  Really? It used to work. I am  the only user on this computer - no sub-accounts. Should not be so clumsy.

 

I am on Window 10, and all the printer functions had performed well when installed on Windows 8.1 and later on Windows 10.  I did one call to customer support for another issue about 18 months ago, and the technician was challenged to fix  it. Eventually got resolution after a 35 minute call.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2019

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

me too same code
???
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

I am having this same issue and have removed all software and re installed it, made sure the "everyone" had full control and nothing is working. Printer is a MG2525 running on Win 10
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

This did not work for me. I still get the same error message

Product Expert
Posts: 921
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

Hi jackson8802 and wbeeman,

 

Troubleshooting with our support group will be needed to narrow down the cause of your issues. Please contact our support group at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666), Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM EST(excluding holidays).

 

We look forward to hearing from you

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-17-2019

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

Hi All

 

I had the same issue and I managed to fix it.

 

I have windows 10 and I have got Windows Defender Installed.

 

When you you try to launch it will give you error and at the same time it will give a you popup screen on the right side bottom tells you that some program is trying to change things. Open that window, it will open up "Window Defender Security Center".  It will say " ADD an ALLOWED APP" .It will give you message, select the App which can modify. Select the below path of the tool is installed in your C Drive:

 

C:\Program Files (x86)\Canon\IJ Scan Utility\SCANUTILITY.EXE

 

Otherwise you can directly launch the Security Center and  the above app.

 

THis should address the issue. Hope this helps.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-24-2019

Re: Scan utility tells me I don't have the required privileges to access the specified folder to sca

how to resolve this mf 235 scan error you do not have a required privileges to access specified folder code 10,244,0

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement