cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pixma MG2522 Printer used on Chromebook.

Camonw
Apprentice

Hello, I recently got a Pixma MG2522 printer and im trying to get it to connect to my Chromebook. Which is not windows or mac. Hopefully you know what it is because im not good with computers. My printer does not connect to wifi of course. Ive tried to go to the website to download the software for the printer but its only for windows, Macbook, Windows rt, i believe. Im hoping someone can help me figure this out. it kind of weird. I believe when i plug the USB cord into my computer it shows up as a Canon MG2500 series (USB). I click on that and then it says Add Printer Manually. So I click Canon under "Manufacturer"  but i dont see my printer option under Model. Which i assume the model is MG2522? or it says "or specify your own driver" which i dont know what that means. Please help....

17 REPLIES 17

Camonw
Apprentice

I have opened a word document to test it. when i go to print i change the destination to the printers name and click print and it says print successful but i never recieve it. 

James_C

Hi Camonw                     

Chromebooks do not use drivers to install printers.  They use Google Cloud print.  There are two methods of printing with Google Cloud print, using a Google Cloud Print ready printer or setting up the service on your computer.

The PIXMA MG2522 unfortunately is not Google Cloud Print compatible.

You may be able set up your PIXMA MG2522 for printing with Google Cloud Print.  Please use the following link for further information regarding setting up a "classic printer":

https://support.google.com/cloudprint/answer/1686197?rd=1

If you continue to have difficulties, please contact our support group using the following link:

http://Canon.us/ContactLI

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.