Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Yeah, I never got this issue resolved.  This thread just sits here, and will probably just sit here indefinitely, as a testament to the utter ineffectiveness of Canon Support.

 

Don't waste your time with the antivirus hypothesis.  I already tried disabling all anti-malware stuff on my PC.  It definitely isn't that.  That's just one of those boiler-plate things that these support guys say when they have absolutely no clue how to fix the problem and just want to get rid of you as quickly as possible.  Which, in the case of Canon Support, appears to be their normal modus operandi.

 

I just gave up on getting the buttons to ever work, and scan through software controls.  Sad but true.

 

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-14-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

I finally got it. After several calls to the standard helpdesk, which was always a pain and not helpful, I eventually got really angry, and then, a few days later, a real technician called me who made some truely reasonable suggestions. One actually worked, and a simple one, too:

 

When installing the driver (that I downloaded from the Canon site), it is not enough to run the installation as administrator from a non-admin account. It also failed to install when logged into an admin account.

 

I had to log into my admin account, and then also "Run as Administrator" (right click on installation file). And then it worked!

 

The greatest thing is that I can now copy directly from scanner to printer. Canon does have capable people (I did not really doubt that, actually), but those are carefully protected from the average customer ...

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Just tried the above with my CanoScan 9000F mark II. Sad to say all the buttons don't work as before
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Actually, that did not solve it for me.

But after a little bit of searching, I found out a solution that should always work - worked for me on my Canon Lide 120.

I thought I post this here, so that other people profit from it also - although I must say, I would expect Canon to come up with a decent piece of software that works reliably.

 

DISCLAIMER: What I am going to explain involves direct changes of your Windows registry. That's a bit like an open-heart-surgery. If you are not careful, you can break your system. Don't blame me, if that happens. Smiley Happy

 

Background Info:

Canon ships a software called IJ Scan Utility. If you install the scanner drivers, this is installed, too.
This tool is supposed to fire up, when you press one of the scanner buttons. Once it fired up, it is going to execute one of the "rules" defined in Canon's quick menu settings, where you configure what should happen, when the buttons are pressed.

If all things were as they should be, there would be entries in your Windows registry that register IJ Scan Utility as a so-called Autoplay Handler for your scanner's buttons using the Microsoft STI Still Image Application API.

Since these registry keys are either missing or not properly set, I will describe how to do that manually.

A big thank you to Matteo Rossi, whose post led me to the right direction.

So, let's get started.

 

Solution:

  1. Backing up your registry!
    • Open up the Windows Start menu and type regedit. This will open up the registry editor.
    • Select the "Computer" entry, i.e. the root node of the registry.
    • Choose File > Export..., give a file name and export your registry. Note: this can take a while. The registry is big!
  2. Finding out the GUID and executable path of IJ Scan Utitlity. You will need that when we add registry entries.
    • Expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Canon\IJ Scan Utility
    • Copy the value of AppPath and InstallID to notepad or note them down.
      Find Out GUID.jpg
  3. Registering IJ Scan Utiltity as Autoplay Handler
    • Expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\AutoplayHandlers\Handlers
    • Right-click the Handlers folder and add a new entry. Call that entry WIA_{[InstallID from Step 2]}
      AutoplayHandlers Entry.jpg
    • Select the newly created entry, and add the following String-type fields on the right.
      • Name: Action, Value: Start IJ Scan Utility
      • Name: CLSID, Value: WIACLSID
      • Name: DefaultIcon, Value: sti.dll,0
      • Name: InitCmdline, Value: /WiaCmd;[AppPath from Step 2] /StiDevice:%1 /StiEvent:%2;
      • Name: Provider, Value: IJ Scan Utility
      • The result should look like this:
        AutoplayHandlers Entry.jpg
  4. Registering IJ Scan Utility as a Still Image Application
    • Expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Still Image\Registered Applications
    • Add a new String value on the right
      Name: IJ Scan Utility, Value: [AppPath from Step 2]
    • The result should look like this:
      RegisteredApplications Entry.jpg
  5. Adding IJ Scan Utility as STI Proxy Event Handler
    • Expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\StillImage\Events\STIProxyEvent\
    • Right-click on STIProxyEvent folder and add a new entry called {[InstallID from Step 2]}
    • Select the newly added entry, and add the following values on the right:
      Name: Cmdline, Value: [AppPath from Step 2] /StiDevice:%1 /StiEvent:%2
      Name: Desc, Value: IJ Scan Utility
      Name: Icon, Value: [AppPath from Step 2],0
      Name: Name, Value: IJ Scan Utility
    • The result should look like this:
      STIProxy Entry.jpg
  6. Save and close the registry editor.
  7. Restart your machine, since these changes might only take effect if Windows is restarted.
  8. Verifying that IJ Scan Utility is properly registered
    • After restart, log in and open Windows' Control Panel (German: Systemsteuerung)
    • Open the Device Manager and select Scanners and Cameras
    • Select the scanner, and Properties, then switch to the Events tab.
    • Select the respective scanner button event from the dropdown and verify that Start this program is set to IJ Scan Utility (if not, change it so it is)
    • Hit Ok.

That's it. You should be good to go now. And when you press a button on the scanner, whatever you configured in Canon's Quick Menu should be executed. E.g. if you press the copy button, the scanner should scan a document and then automatically send it to your selected printer.

 

Hope this helps.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Dude!  That actually worked!  

Major kudos to you.  Thank you!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2017

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Those registry edits did the trick - thanks!

 

FYI, for anyone else out there Googling, with 64-bit Windows you will not find IJ Scan Utility in the HKLK\Software\Canon key. The path will be HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\Canon\IJ Scan Utility.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement