Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-06-2020

Canon g3200 error 5b00

I moved my printer which is a Canon G3200 Megatank printer and now it is giving me error message 5b00 and I tried looking online for help and just get info saying it needs to get fixed by Canon but umm the Canon here is closed due to being non essential and no idea how long it will be closed for but I need a printer so I am hoping to get some idea of what I can do as it can't get taken in to get fixed right now.

Moderator
Posts: 1,791
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

Hello!

So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know the Computer Operating System you're using (Windows Vista/7/8/10 or macOS 10.x), as well as the way you connect to your device (USB or WiFi).

Any other details you'd like to give will only help the Community better understand your issue!

If you're in the United States, and this is an urgent support need, please click HERE to visit your My Canon Account to discover your personalized support options. 

If you're outside of the USA, please click HERE to find support options in your country.

Thanks and have a great day!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-06-2020

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

I am using windows 10 and I connect via usb

Product Expert
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

Hi  quirkyprincess,

 

The 5B00 message would point to a hardware issue and it wold mean the printer would need service. The error points to the printer's waste ink absorber and it would need to be replaced. Since a replacement part is needed, this would not be something that could be performed at home.

 

To see what option you have available to you, you can click on the link HERE to create a Canon account and see what service options you have.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-06-2020

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

So no options right now okay well thats fine I will wait till my local Canon store is able to reopen and in the meantime bought a HP printer so I can utlitize the instant ink program 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-27-2020

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

I have the same issue. My printer was working fine and had printed a colored page for my son but it had light white lines so I tried to do a cleaning which then gave me the error message. I did not move the printer, I only print about 5 pages per week during school week for my son since March. Prior to that we didn't really use the printer. The waste shouldn't need replacing already.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-14-2020

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

1. Clean or replace the ink absorber pads.

 

1. Remove the two screws on the back and remove the back panel and paper support as a unit.

2. Using pliers or tweezers, gently pull the three ink pads out from the bottom.

3. Soak the pads overnight in water, rinse them out, then let them dry and shrink back to size.

4. Replace the pads. (Note, if you can find replacement pads, that would save some time and hassle, but I have not been able to locate any, despite a thorough search. Canon would rather make you buy a new printer than fix the old one -- chalk up another win for the throw-away society.)

 

2. Reset the ink waste counter.

 

0. With the printer unplugged from the AC mains:

1. Press and hold the power button

2. Whilst holding the power button operated, plug the power cord back into the printer.

3. Keep holding the power button until the printer begins to reset itself and come online, then release the button.

4. Wait for the green power light to turn off, then press and release the power button again.

It should blink for 2-3 seconds and then stay on.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2021

Re: Canon g3200 error 5b00

I have done everything as you said to do it. The reset trick did not work and i still have the 7 light flashes. Is there something else i can try? Or did i maybe not do something correct? I held the power button down for a couple minutes after plugging in the printer. Nothing happened, but when i let go of the button, the light did turn back off. It was unplugged for 2 days so i dont think that is the issue. I have also been able to get it into service mode, but i cannot go any farther from there.

Help?
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement