Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019
Accepted Solution

Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

I have a Canon MX490 printer.  Everytime I hit the scan button on my printer, it says "wait a while" and launches Photoshop. How can I turn that off? I just want the printer to save the scan, not lauch an application.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Greetings,
Windows or MAC?

How this occurs:

Output file type is associated with Photoshop as the default application

Printer Driver?
Is a canon specific printer driver installed or are you using default support in the OS?

Depending on the situation, you might be able to set the output file type and in others a default action. Like open a program.

One or the other of these is probably why Photoshop is opening when you initiate a scan.
Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Windows. Photoshop launches when I use the scan button on the printer itself. When I use the scan function in the PC the scanner acts properly. I don't know what protocol photoshop is keying on. it's not in the default programs list. So, I posted here.
Product Expert
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Hi Kris44dad,

 

You can adjust what program opens from IJ Scan Utility. In IJ Scan you will want to go to settings and adjust the open with an application under Save to PC. Please click HERE to open the online manual that will show you where you can access the option.

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

I checked all the settings on all the tabs. The application is listed as Windows Explorer everywhere. I don't see Photoshop as listed anywhere

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Tryed resetting everything to, Don't launch any application, still lauches Phoshop when pressing the scan button on the scanner. Reset to defaults.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

[ Edited ]

Are you sure you have the defaults set correctly for each scan heading?  If Photoshop is present, that might be the culprit.

 

scan.png

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Yep. I looked under every tab, and the full page under each. I still don't know what is triggering it.

Product Expert
Posts: 2,895
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

Hello.

 

The IJ Scan Utility has options for adjusting the options in the IJ Scan Utility itself, and for the "Save to PC" options.  The "Save to PC" options are meant for scans that are performed from the operation panel.

 

On the upper left corner of the Settings menu, please click the Save to PC button (middle) then make the adjustments for the tabs there.

 

This didn't answer your question or issue? Find more help at Contact Us.

 

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Can I stop Photoshop from launching?

I have to keep repeating myself...

 

When I use the IJ Scan Utility everything works as it should.  It is when I use the scan button on the printer itself that Photoshop launches. I guess I will have to look on the Photoshop side for a solution.  I will add that when I push the scan button on the printer, the LCD sceen says, "wait a while". It is during that time Photoshop launches.  Photoshop doesn't even load an image. It just starts and sits there, making the action useless and annoying.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement