Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-23-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

Thanks everyone for the tips and help.  

 

I'll see what Canon says.  It seems to be known problem (at least the shutter issue), but who knows.  I will say that this problem with this camera has made me think twice about this company.  I'm sure there are other companies out there who have better customer support..Samsung, Nikon?  Pentax??  What's a good option to replace this S100?

 

Thanks.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

So I ordered two new parts and neither of them worked, and I'm positive the piece was pushed in all the way... The camera no longer turns on Smiley Sad I even tried putting the old strip back, but it still wouldn't power on.

The one thing I noticed was that the original piece was labeled CM1-7226-020, and that the newer parts were CM1-7226-030 (20 vs 30). When I ordered the part I simply ordered CM1-7226-000. Can anyone comfirm what parts they exchanged? I noticed a slight difference in the pins on the strip, but I have no idea if that makes a difference and I'm just looking for confirmation bias...

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,410
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Allegedly that is the right part number you requested, see page 34 of this thread about half way down also on pages 31, 32. I did not see anyone mention a difference in the number they ordered to what they received.

Maybe I missed that post where they got a differnt part number and it still worked.

Being that you ordered a 000 and your existing board was a 020 and they sent a 030 my gut feeling is they sent you the wrong parts.

 

Wait to see who else chimes in but you may have gotten the wrong parts. In the meantime you can call Canon and confirm they sent you the right parts. I assume you got them from Canon ?

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

I ordered with the number ending in 000, and that is what they confirmed by email.

CM1-7226-000        FPC ASS'Y, TOP       

That  is what is on the original part. 

However, when I called to place the order, and gave that part number, I still had to have a conversation with the representative about which s100 I have. There is another S100 that came out about 12 years ago-- part of the "elf" series. One distinguishing characteristic is mine has a pop-up flash, and the older model does not. I cannot confirm what part number was actually delivered without taking the camera apart -- and since surgery always involves risk of fatality I don't want to do that. I suggest calling Canon repair parts  (866-481-2569, 9am-7pm eastern) and having that conversation about the various part numbers. If it is their error they may make good.

 

Of course it would make sense for there to be a newer version, since the orginal seems to be prone to failure. On the other hand, Canon denies any fault with the original, so perhaps a different number reflects a different manufacturing run. But a design change would be illogical unless there is a known problem. So far at least two people on the forum have reported the camera failing to power on after replacement, and in one case more wiggling got it working. But don't force, just wiggle. And make sure that the brass button that winds up under the power switch is clean.

 

Isn't Canon clever to assign the same model number to completely different models?

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,410
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

yeah Dan there is a silver S100 Elph model that I see out there too. And you may have gotten a Canon rep who knew what he was doing and needed to ask you to get you the right part.

lol 2 different cameras same model number...maybe they saved money that way

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Correction - the number on my original part is 7226-020
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Yeah, and then two (or 3) different numbers for same repair part. No tale too strange to believe.
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,410
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

same as what that S2 person said his was...now the mystery lies in what part Canon sent out for a replacement.

 

Whats the odds of you have the receipt for that part and the part number being on it ?

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

I found the package in which my repair part arrived. There is an outer and an inner package, and both show the part number as CM1-7226-000.  The outer package also says "Pick Location: AB0501K008." I guess that's where the good parts are kept. Of course just because a number is on the package does not guarantee that number is on the part. Since Wallygaw had the same experience as you, maybe you can get his attention and see what part he received.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-02-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

I have this problem as well, just joined this board... just to comment, I haven't been able to read all 36 pages.... I know there seems to be some parts that can be ordered???

For what its worth, I've found that if i depress to the halfway point and then continue to push but focus the push towards the front of the camera it seems to do the shutter correctly.

Potentially the last Canon Camera I'll own.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement