Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

...or noticed 30 pages of the same complaint and made good.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-18-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Ha! I have been viewing this as a battle of wits between me and the camera and I want to force it to work without much effort on my part Smiley Happy
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Then don't even open it. Just spray the shutter button on the outside and let it dribble in. That worked on my other Canon when the zoom lever stopped working. What could be lazier than that?

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-16-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Thought I would report back just to say that the Deoxit trick only worked for about a week or two for me then problem started again.  Opened up and tried Deoxit again and...nothing.  Tried again...nothing.  Back to square one.

Looked for that FPC part but can't find anywhere in Europe.

I'm off camera hunting at the weekend.  Guess what brand I won't be buying.

 

Not a happy bunny.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-18-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Just wanted to add my comments to this thread... I am having the same issue that a lot of people are having with the shutter button on the Canon S100. The focus works but the button wont take a picture. Occasionally if I hold it down for 5 seconds it will trigger but otherwise nothing. I sent it in for repair but Canon wanted to charge me what I thought was an unreasonable amount to fix, more than a newer model. Very dissapointed in Canon not standing by their products. Has anyone had any luck fixing this on their own?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

eagerly awaiting your results for fitting your flex cable!

The part number is the same in the US- just called canon and its ~ $17 with shipping.

Would love to try to fix it myself, but have no idea where to start, especially if it involves solder :x

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-28-2012

Re: shutter release not working S100-replaced FPC

I got the part from Canon ~ $18 including shipping. Pay attention to which screw goes where, even though they are all itty bitty, they are all different sizes.

 

There were six outside case screws, a couple for the top piece that has the power button, etc., a couple for what might be the gps senser (it's a square piece that goes over part of the FPC part), and 2 little ones that are kind of through the FPC piece, but might not have needed to come out as the holes in the FPC may have been big enough to fit over the screws.

 

No solder involved. The old piece does have some sticky tape holding it down, so it needs pried off that in addition to the 2 slide in connections.

 

It was a little nerve racking disassmbling and not damaing anything else. My first attempt to power up after reassembly got no power. I hadn't wiggled the FPC connection that slides in the front of the camera far enough in.

 

Anyway, took a number of pictures at kids soccer game this weekend without issue. Should hopefully be good for a few more yearsSmiley Happy

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-11-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100-replaced FPC

What was the specific part number? I want to make sure that that I order the correct part.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-28-2012

Re: shutter release not working S100-replaced FPC

It was the part someone mentioned earlier, CM1-7226-000, description says FPC ASS'Y TOP.

 

I went through a couple of transfers to get to Parts the first time I called, but it looks like you can get them direct at 1-866-481-2569, 9am-7pm eastern.

 

It's crazy that a $10 part (much less for them at cost) is causing all of us such angst.

 

Good luck!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100-replaced FPC

Thanks for update. When I tried to order a couple of weeks ago Canon did not have it. I will try again.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement