Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

OK. My S100 came back from repair. On the paper it is written that "FPC ASS'Y, TOP" was repaired. I wonder, how long woill it last...

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,317
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

There are many "FPC" in the camera and that one they repaired has the actual shutter switch mounted to it. FPC stands for Flexible Printed Circuit In this case I bet they just resecured it so that the shutter button activates that dual purpose switch focus and shutter.

Be as gentle as possible with that shutter/focus button as there seems to be a design problem it's not you.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-19-2013

Re: shutter release not working S100

Aarrgghhhh

Ssssooo we fixed the shutter issue right before our 2 months and half trip to Europe from the US, and now we have a lens error issue!!!!!! And we are not back home until mid august... SO FRUSTRATING!!!!
Canon is so very disappointing Smiley Sad((((((((
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-27-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Same problem. Camera won't fire, or takes several seconds to fire, after autofocussing. The problem sometimes lessens the longer the camera has been turned on; sometimes it gets worse. My S100 has a 41...... serial number; it was one of the cameras that suffered the lens error problem (and was fixed by Canon). This camera was bought in Hong Kong.

 

I'd appreciate it if Canon would acknowledge what seems to be another design or manufacturing fault with this particular model, given the consistency of the experience of people with the same shutter problem.

 

Ian

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,317
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Id be curious if you tested it with the self timer option if it fired normally ? That would or could narrow it down.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-27-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

I just tried it with the 2-second and 10-second self-timers. The problem persisted, unfortunately. Sometimes, rarely, fully depressing the shutter would immediately initiate the bleeping timer and the shutter would release. Mostly though, it did nothing, until I had fully depressed the button several times for several seconds.Thanks for the suggestion.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Just registered to add my voice to this problem. Like others, I spent lots of time and way more money than I have ever spent on a camera to make sure I got a good one that would last me a long while. I've always liked Canon and championed them to others. I think I bought the one year warranty, and sure enough, about 18 months into my camera ownership, after the warranty was dead,  the camera quite suddenly started experiencing a shutter release delay of several seconds. I kept missing all those perfect photos of my babies. Just a short while later, the camera shutter quit working completely. I've tried different modes, different angles and just about anything suggested on all the forums I've read.

Mine is a 41 series, which I have seen is part of a recall for lens error, but I've never experienced that particular error before. I have not yet contacted Canon, mostly because I'm afraid I know what they will say...$160 plus, like all the other commenters have mentioned.

I'm very bummed, as I can't afford a new camera. I hope Canon will step up and take ownership of the problem.

Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎05-24-2013

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

Gloves off! 

S100 lens error a search will bring tons of results heres a possible reason! See this link

S100 Lens error

 

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO REPAIR THIS YOURSELF, this *MAY NOT* be YOUR specific problem.  About time Canon sorted themselves out!

 

Dave

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-13-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

This is only a makeshift emergency solution that might work for you. Missing baby shots is an emergency! My camera has the same problem, though it is not in an identified problem series. Packing it overnight in a ziplock with dry-PAC things that come in shoe boxes, vitamins etc. has given me a few shots at a time. Also, my video record button still works, so I take the video, then, through the free Picassa picture file program, I "take a picture" at the chosen time in the video and save that image. Maybe it will work for you. Better than nothing! I too, got stung by Canon, thinking the high price would indicate quality. My old S90 worked many years with no issues.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-10-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Hello together

a friend of mine had the same problem with the s100.
I could fix it as follows:
I made some videos for several minutes now comes the s100 back to normal.
guess it's up to one internal buffer error.

if this should work in other cases this might be the solution ...

 
greeting from Germany

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement