Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-27-2016

Re: “memory card error”

Do you have to format the card before you use it?  If so how do you do that on the camera.  The Owners manuel isn't very helpful with this & a few other things.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,411
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: “memory card error”

Yes go to yor settings menu the one with the hammer and wrench symbol then look down the list to Format. Select that and proceed to format the card. If you cannot select it because it is greyed out, unselectable, then I would strongly suggest sending that camera back for a return since yours is brand new.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2018

Re: “memory card error”

I realize this is really late, but I just had a very similar issue. Brand-new camera, brand-new memory card, but I would get a "Memory card error" message in the top part of the camera screen as soon as I turned on my camera. This meant that I also couldn't take any pictures. I realized it was because I had gotten the wrong kind of memory card. The package I received has 2 memory cards, one large adapter for laptops (which is also the size required for the camera), and a smaller memory card which actually stores the memory. My issue was that I was using the adapter in the camera, because it is the correct size, but it wasn't working because there wasn't actually any memory on it. I hope you were able to solve your problem!!

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,581
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: “memory card error”


@Julie31 wrote:

I realize this is really late, but I just had a very similar issue. Brand-new camera, brand-new memory card, but I would get a "Memory card error" message in the top part of the camera screen as soon as I turned on my camera. This meant that I also couldn't take any pictures. I realized it was because I had gotten the wrong kind of memory card. The package I received has 2 memory cards, one large adapter for laptops (which is also the size required for the camera), and a smaller memory card which actually stores the memory. My issue was that I was using the adapter in the camera, because it is the correct size, but it wasn't working because there wasn't actually any memory on it. I hope you were able to solve your problem!!



It sounds like you have only one memory card, not two.  The smaller card must inserted into the adapter.  You should only use a full size SD card from a major manufacturer.  I use SanDisk Extreme 32 GB cards in my DSLRs.

 

The micro-SD cards are unreliable when used with an adapter.  Only use micro-SD cards in devices that use them directly, without any adapter.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-28-2018

Re: “memory card error”

I have the same camera model. As a real estate appraiser, I use it a lot, hundreds of pictures every week a lot. I have been using it with a Sandisk micro SD card inserted into the SD adapter it came with. it has been fairly reliable, but I do get this "Memory Card Error" message on occasion while I'm at a property. Now that I've had it more than a couple a times, I plan to replace it with a full size SD card.

 

But! I have resolved the issue each time by removing the memory card and adapter from the camera, removing the Micro card from the adapter, reinserting it and removing it from the adapter a couple of times, then inserting and removing and reinserting the adapter and card into the camera a couple of times. It is likely a contact issue with the Micro card and adapter. I'm not saying this is a perfect solution, but if you're in a pinch and need the camera and card to work right now, this might get you over that hurtle. This solution may also work with a full size SD card too, but repeated messages could mean a problem with the card or worse, card slot on the camera.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,411
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: “memory card error”

Just to concur with what some others have said using a micro SD card in an adapter can cause problems. I too have used those many many times and only have had 1 memory card error. Using a full sized card is best and reliable.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2020

Re: “memory card error”

Hello is this post still active? I'm getting the same message on the Canon powershot 530 hs "memory card error" any solution yet? And what do you guys mean by using a full sized card? Like it has to be 32 pluss GB?
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,076
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: “memory card error”

momjoanne, 

I understand you are seeking support for your PowerShot SX530 HS.

For support on this product, please call 1-800-652-2666 and follow the prompts for Technical Support. Agents are available during the following times. All times EST, excluding holidays.


Cameras - PowerShot -- 1-800-652-2666 Monday-Friday: 9:00 am to 9:00 pm

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement