cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When I look through my viewfinder I do not see an image of my subject.

piazink
Contributor

I am new at photography and think I must be missing something simple.  When I turn on my Power Shot in shooting mode I see only a bright square on a dark field.  Pressing "disp" adds or removes symbols around the edge of the field, but no image of my subject.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

lol your welcome if you can select "probelm solved" that will end this thread...glad it worked and it may have to be repeated till the shutter loosens up

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Tara_N
Enthusiast

Hi, piazink!

So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know exactly what Canon PowerShot you are using.

Any other details you'd like to give will only help the Community better understand your issue!

If this is a time-sensitive matter, our US-based technical support team is standing by, ready to help 24/7 via Email at http://bit.ly/EmailCanon or by phone at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) weekdays between 10 AM and 10 PM ET (7 AM to 7 PM PT).

Thanks and have a great day!

Thanks for getting back to me, Tara.  I am trying to figure out my husband's old Power Shot S2 IS.  When I turn it on I see an orange light above the on/off wheel and the lens zooms out.  If I understand the manual correctly it should now be ready to shoot, but all I see on the LED screen and through the viewfinder is a bright square on a dark field.  I would like to try resetting it to factory default, but when I go to Menu/Tools, I don't see a reset option.  (No...I didn't forget to take off the lens cover!)