cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with new SX50HS

bcms6
Apprentice

Hi,

I am a newbie to photography, but really interested in getting into it.  I thought the SX50HS would be a nice bridge into the hobby, but so far, I am not impressed!  I've ahd the camera for about two weeks.  I just downloaded the pix I have taken onto my PC, and now that I can view the images at high resolution, I am having the following problems:  fuzzy, out of focus images, grainy images, pasty-looking skin tones, discrete color variations, lack of detail.  I've been playing around with setting a lot, but to make it simple, I have all of the above issues in auto mode.  If I digitally zoom in on the pic on my PC just a little bit, it's really bad.  My 10 year old Olympus PnS takes better pictures.

Overall, it looks like there is heavy compression going on, but I didn't change any settings to reduce the size or quality of the photos.  It is set to "L".

The following was taken under flourescent light at high zoom, handheld.  Look at the pasty-ness of the bush and lack of detail

IMG_0174.JPG

This was taken at about 8 feet away, with moderate sunlight.  Lack of detail, poor dynamic range

IMG_0120.JPG

Detail on the couch is totally missing in this high dynamic range photo

STA_0066.JPG

Couch up close:

Couch zoom.JPG

Part of a selfie:

selfie.JPG

I have taken 100-200 pix, and there are only a couple that I would say are decent.  I played around with manual zoom, but it is really difficult to get right using the buttons on the back of the camera. 

As I said, I am a newbie, but I get the feeling the problem is not my button-pushing skills, but a real inability of this camera to properly focus and digitally process images.  I'm open to trying new things, but have a feeling I will be returning this and upgrading to something else.  Is this normal?  Am I doing something wrong?  I really want to love this camera....

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5