Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-20-2015
Accepted Solution

Transferring videos through Image Sync

[ Edited ]

Image sync seems to be working on my camera but it's not transferring any videos. Is that normal?

 

It was transferring videos fine yesterday. Can someone tell me what I need to do to get it to transfer videos to CIG?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-04-2014

Re: Transferring videos through Image Sync

Hello charleyhorse!

 

To have a better understanding of your issue, please let everyone know what model camera and the operating system (Windows Vista/7/8 or Mac OS 10.X) you are using. That way, community will be able to assist you with suggestions appropriate for your product.
 
If this is an urgent support need, please CLICK HERE to reach our friendly Technical Support Team.

 

Thanks!

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-20-2015

Re: Transferring videos through Image Sync

Thank you for the help. I'm using a Canon G16 and a Mac (OS 10.6).

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-20-2015

Re: Transferring videos through Image Sync

Hello. Is anyone there? I'm asking: Does Image Sync only transfer images and not videos? If you know the answer to this question please respond.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-25-2016

Re: Transferring videos through Image Sync

I'm having the same problem. Image sync is only sending images, not videos.

 

I have to say I'm pretty disappointed in Canon. For the past 2 days I've been struggling with Canon's CameraWindow and Image Transfer Utility trying to get my shots transferred from my G9X to Win10 through Wifi and this was the best I could get: only images not videos, so it's pretty useless. It just cannot be this difficult to do the most basic and common thing a camera user wants to do. The transfer process is so complex, user interface so unclear and following the manual doesn't help so I'm lost at this point. I'm a software engineer so I would think I could figure out how this thing works... but no.

 

Finding this 1 year old thread describing the same problem and Canon's user support not giving any response is just sad. So here's my advice in solving the problem:

 

1. Workaround: Take out the SD card and move images/videos the old-fashioned way using a card reader.

2. Solution: Switch to other camera brand.

Product Expert
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Transferring videos through Image Sync

Hi Charleyhorse,

 

Thanks for posting.

 

Please check for the following settings:

 

Press the MENU button, then navigate to the "Settings" (has the hammer & wrench icon) tab, then choose Wi-Fi Settings. Scroll down to "Image Sync", then use the right/ left arrow buttons to select "Stills/ Movies.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement