Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

Whilst Recording, is there a trick or way to do this?

 

TIA 

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,796
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

If you don't have an obvious headphone jack, probably not.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,379
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

No, you only have audio out on that model

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

John, methinks you mean only Audio IN. If I had live audio OUT I’d be home and dry. 😉 Thanks for responding.

 

Ive got an iRig Pre that gives me control of Pre Amp that has ia Headphone Jack and I’m researching a Live Audio IN solution. But yes, if I’d want features I’d need to spend much more than the SX60.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,379
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

hmmmmmm...I looked at your manual, page 4, item 9 is listed as A/V Out?

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

Yeah, that’s not a LIVE Out, that’s purely for playing to an external monitor AFTER capture. Great for auditioning my clips. I wish it were different. Man Sad

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,379
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

ahhh I see, looks like Canon dropped the ball on that one. To me, it does not seem so technically difficult to have that output able to do both live and playback.

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

It would be a bit of a kludge but you could probably find a tiny battery powered audio mixer equipped with a headphone monitor output.  Perhaps you could put the other mic or line inputs to use in some video situations.

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?

Well, John, my feeling is that it is a wee bit more fundamental in terms of presenting features to a User: You can have your Mic in, but don’t expect to do real time monitoring of it the Audio signal 🤨  

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: SX60hs: Monitor Audio IN?


@wq9nsc wrote:

“It would be a bit of a kludge but you could probably find a tiny battery powered audio mixer equipped with a headphone monitor output.”

 

Yes, this is what I’m pursuing with my iRig Pre. I’d post a link but I don’t think I’m allowed to. This is I use with XLR and monitored with HDs to my iPhone and iPad. It works and has both a 48v supply and signal increase. It’s a stunning piece of kit, and for 30 Bux yah can’t go wrong. However once connected to the SX60 the HD output is dead. Ughhh....

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement