Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I'll have to try this again and see as they wont take the camera back. I've downloaded the program many times but can never find it on the computer. I was trying to copy and paste pictures from opening as an external device like I always have.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem


@sleepygrumpydoc wrote:
I'll have to try this again and see as they wont take the camera back. I've downloaded the program many times but can never find it on the computer. I was trying to copy and paste pictures from opening as an external device like I always have.

It should be in a folder "Canon Untilities" in "All Programs"  It's called Camera Window. Make a shortcut to your desktop to find it easier next time.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-04-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

[ Edited ]

First, grumpy, check what your internet browser does with files it downloads. Look in the browser's Options.

Whatever it is, change it to 'ask you every time you download' so that you can choose where you want downloading files to land.

For the time being, I suggest you choose Desktop - your main screen with all the icons - to put the Canon setup download.

 

Then double-click the new setup icon on your desktop to install the Canon programs. As Wm says, they'll then be in your Start menu list under All Programs, Canon Utilities; choose Canon Window to fire up. You'll probably have to tell Canon Window where you want your pictures; choose a folder.

 

I'll assume you have Bluetooth active/on and waiting on your computer.

Then start Bluetooth on your camera. A connection should be established, and your photos will begin transferring automatically.It's never as fast as a wired connection, but that's wireless... Man Indifferent

Over time, it'll detect what ones are already on the computer and upload only new ones.

 

HTH

 

BTW, blueribb's hint on WMP helped here. Gave him 'Kudos'. Thx.

 

BTW2, I HIGHLY recommend the free 'Windows Live Photo Gallery' program to manage your pictures/photos.

Turn on, tick, all File, Options.

Available free from Msft.

 

Ardwych

Seau 26Jun16

RV1
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

Dear Community, When I bought my new Cannon Powershot SX710HS I could down load my pictures and Vidoes by connecting my USB cable to the computer, switch on the Camera and then I would get red window asking me if I wanted to down load the new images to my Zoom browser. Once I clicked the button it was transfered to my zoom browser. Now when I connect it it seems to go to another area asking me to open a new folder and all sorts of complicated actions. Can anybody help out there because thay are very important images that I want to put in a brochure. Thank you from RV1.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-22-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I never heard of ZoomBrowser so I googled it. It seems to be an old (2011) Canon program. Here is a link to ZoomBrowser's manual:

 

http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/6/0300004726/01/zb67-w-en.pdf

 

If you still get the same "red window" when connecting to your SX710HS, it may just be asking for the location you want to save your photos. Once you do that, it shouldn't ask again unless you move your photos to a different location on your hard drive. 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

Thanks lfwplasma, that was very helpful. I'm running Windows 7 and had no problem connecting my SX620 HS to my iPhone and Image Gateway but couldn't connect to the PC. I went into "Add a device" on the Control Panel, found the camera and had no problem after that.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-27-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I am able to log on to our network but the camera defaults to my wife's computer which we also have on the network.

I have a Dell PC running Windows 10.  

I am unabe to connect with my computer on the network.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem


@jeballa wrote:

I am able to log on to our network but the camera defaults to my wife's computer which we also have on the network.

I have a Dell PC running Windows 10.  

I am unabe to connect with my computer on the network.


Have you tried going into your Dell and using "add a device"?

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

Same problem but with Power Shot SX610HS bought one year ago .  Great Pictures!  But can not edit and save pictures or transfer pictures to I- phone.  To get the pictures on this laptop( non Apple) which has Wifi I take micro disc out of camera and plug into computer( same as last camera).    Is the SX710HS same as SX610HS??  Also I was able to transfer pictures from this camera to the I-phone ONE TIME!!!  Can not get it to work NOW.  What am I doing wrong??

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-23-2017

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I have tried and tried but finally turning on media streaming option for all networks worked for me.  Thank you.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement