Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the reply!

 

Funny I wanted to try this when I first recieved AT&T's equipment. The fact is I've never had an issue connecting something to my router so I didnt see the need to purchase a nicer seperate wireless router. TVs, gaming systems, reciever, phone and tablets of all sorts, printers.... even Raspberry Pi connected without a hicup. 

 

If i'm simply trying to get the pictures off my camera, purchasing a USB cable is the cheapest way to go.

 

I think the main point is, why should i have to purchase another product to get Canon's product to do what it said it already does? 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I am having somewhat of a similar problem with my SX719HS.

 

Yesterday, I transferred several photos and videos from the camera to my computer with no problem...I set up the connection when I first got the camera, with no issue.

 

Last night, there were numerous Windows updates installed.

 

Today, I went to transfer a photo from the camera to the computer and it finds the access point just fine, but when finding the computer, it just keeps searching. I went into Control Panel to Devices and Printers, and the camera is there, but is greyed out, so it's not connected. For some reason, the camera cannot detect the computer or vice versa. I haven't figured out which. 

 

It's just odd that it was working until the Windows updates were installed. Is there a connection?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I can answer my own question.  

 

I ended up deleting the camera in Devices and Printers.

 

Went back and used Add a Device. It discovered the camera, added the drivers (again) and voila. I was able to transfer a photo via wifi.

VIP
Posts: 8,174
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

Funny I wanted to try this when I first recieved AT&T's equipment. The fact is I've never had an issue connecting something to my router so I didnt see the need to purchase a nicer seperate wireless router. TVs, gaming systems, reciever, phone and tablets of all sorts, printers.... even Raspberry Pi connected without a hicup. 

 

If i'm simply trying to get the pictures off my camera, purchasing a USB cable is the cheapest way to go.

 

I think the main point is, why should i have to purchase another product to get Canon's product to do what it said it already does? 

------------------------------------------------------

Why purchase a router?  Because if your Internet Provider, AT&T, decides to change routers, or if you decide to move and wind up with a new box at your new location, then you have reconfigure everything, all of your wireless gear, all over again from scratch. 

 

With your own router, all have do is connect a network cable from the AT&T's box, to your router, for an Internet service conneciton. Your own router adds a layer of abstraction between you and your provider.

 

Everything on your side of the router remains the same no matter where you go.  Simply configure your router for "pass-through", and you're done.   The internet service side is a standard signal, which doesn't change, no matter what equipment is used, or who owns it.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-22-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

I don't know if this will help anyone but I was having this issue with an SX510 HS and here's how I fixed it:

 

While the camera was searching for the device, I did this:

 

1. Control Panel

2. Network and Sharing Center

3. Expand "All Networks"

4. Click "Choose Media Streaming Options"

5. This was OFF (it was ON previously). I turned it ON again.

6. Go to View Network Computers and Devices

7. Right-click the camera and choose "install" (if needed)

 

Wi Fi Image Transfers work perfectly again. I made a step-by-step guide to fix this and placed it on my desktop for future reference. I'm sure I'll have to use it again.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-05-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

In windows 10, opening control panel>devices and printers, then add a device whe the camera starts searching is what did the trick for me. Thanks for the input, saved the day.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

well i was hopeful after reading the wonderful comment about eh customer service help that my issues with connecting by wifi would be resolved. I would say my experiecne was less than helpful. I was told to stand closer to the router and if that didnt work to contact my internet provider. really. My printer has no trouble with the wifi connection. I doubt the issue is my internet service. very frustrated and wish I had not bought this product. looks like ill end up purchasing a cord and basically should have just kept my old camera. to bad I cant return it.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-22-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

If you are running Windows 10, try this:

 

  • Click on Start and search for "services.msc" and click on it once it appears.

 

  • Scroll down to "Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service" and right click, the select "Properties"

 

  • Click on "Log On' tab up top.

 

  • Select "Local System account" button and put a check in the check box labeled "Allow service to interact with desktop"

 

  • Finally, click on "Apply" or "OK" and that's it. 

Also read my previous post if you still have problems

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem

That was very helpful. I was able to at least get the camera to find my computer but still can't get the picture to show up in my computer . My husban was frustrate enough he went out and bought a cord to directly link but it the device doesn't even show up to pull the pictures off of.. At this point I just want my pictures off and to get rid of this camera. I guess I'll be going to the store tomorrow.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2016

Re: Powershot SX710 HS wi-fi connection problem


@sleepygrumpydoc wrote:
That was very helpful. I was able to at least get the camera to find my computer but still can't get the picture to show up in my computer . My husban was frustrate enough he went out and bought a cord to directly link but it the device doesn't even show up to pull the pictures off of.. At this point I just want my pictures off and to get rid of this camera. I guess I'll be going to the store tomorrow.

If you downloaded the programs correctly, you should have something called "Camera Window."  When your camera is connected, go to that program and open it. That's where your pictures will show up.

 

Does your computer have an SD card reader? Most computers made in the last 6-8 years have an SD slot It's a lot easier to take out the SD card and plug it into the computer and open it up in Windows Explorer than it is to use a cord. 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement