cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice looking for a new camera

elacas
Apprentice

Hi.  I am researching ato buy a new camera. I like to take action shots of my dogs. But prefer an automatic .

I am a novice and own two canons .

Thank YOU

6 REPLIES 6

smack53
Mentor

You don't mention what kind of budget you are trying to stay with. Usually, when someone mentions action shots I think DSLR. The focus on the T3i is very quick, and the T3i is a fairly easy camera to use as it has an Auto mode. Though it's not the newest model, it is still readily available for a reasonable price. On the other hand, the PowerShot G16 also has a high burst rate for a compact camera, but the price may actually be higher than the T3i. The S110 is also a nice compact camera, but doesn't have a long zoom range. But the fast lens is really great for fast focusing.

Let us know what kind of budget you're thinking about so that the community can assist you better. And even let us know what camera models you already have to help us know more about what you're used to.

Steve M.

The best approach to action photography requires being able to set the shutter speed to match the style of action trying to be captured. Fast shutter speeds freeze something in motion. People think it's hard to learn how to use things like choosing a shutter speed but in actual fact it's pretty easy now that you get to see the results immediately thanks to the LCD. Next best is a camera with a sports mode but being able to pick the settings you learn work is better.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Hi  My budget is $500.00 I am interetested  in  a Power Shot Camera.

I own a SD900 elf power shot and a S215 power shot.

Thank YOU Very Much!