cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need expert help using the XS50hs

au5599
Contributor

First let me start by saying this is an absolutely amazing camera. So for most peoples needs this would be great.

Now onto my delemia.

I have been using the Powershot A650is for several years for my daughters National all star cheerleading. The camera is set up ISO3200 and continuous. This results in about 400-450 pictures in a 2 1/2-3 minute time.

I needed something with a better zoom so I got a XS50hs. I didnt have the time to play with it before we were at a competition. I just checked that it had ISO3200 and did continuous without stopping.

This camera only takes half the pics the 650 does. Zoomed in or out. The picture size is set to the same as on the 650 which I believe was M.

What else do I need to try to get it to pickup more pictures in continuous? Also only other thing I noticed is a good delay before you can zoom in or out after you stop shooting. Is there anything for this?

I like the camera overall alot but there was alot of shots missed. I know most people wouldnt understand how quickly the scene changes in a second.

8 REPLIES 8

cicopo
Elite

I haven't used any of those cameras but according to the specs your A60IS shoots 1.2 FPS while the SX50 can shoot up to 10 FPS. That's going to fill the buffer very quickly so you'd best be using the fastest memory cards available. Also the freeze up may be that while it's writing to the card it can't do other things like zoom.

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/A650IS/A650ISDAT.HTM

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/canon-sx50hs/canon-sx50hsDAT.HTM

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."