cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G7X USB Connection Possible Fix. Still Need WiFi Help Please.

grahammacd
Apprentice

In composing a long "help me!" note, I found a possible solution for folks having difficulty connecting their G7X Mark II's via USB to their PC -- check your cable.

I had been trying with a USB cable that I used for my GoPro, which would charge the G7X, but wouldn't let Windows 10 discover the camera. Was about to call it quits, when I remembered I had another of the same cable that I had used for my previous HTC cellphone (it's a different physical cable, same connectors, that came with the cellphone). Tried that one and viola, Windows saw the camera instantly.

I've been working with computers for 15 years and honestly, that's probably the only time I've ever seen one cable work and the other not. And the other cable still works for the other camera. Very weird.

I still can't get the WiFi transfer solution to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. See description below:

Recently bought brand new G7X Mark II with Video Creator Kit (including 32GB SanDisk Class 10 SDHC Memory Card -- being used in this camera).

Snapped a few pictures and a video (maybe 3 min long) as tests and went to attempt to upload to my Windows 10 Pro x64 PC.

I first attempted to connect via the WiFi button on the side and went through the various screens. I was able to connect to my router via both WiFi, then on a separate time through WPS. In both instances the camera was visible on the network (under the Windows Network page), but I wasn't able to interact with the icon aside from it offering to show a webpage for the device (like a device-internal webpage the way routers have) which didn't exist once clicked.

During this process, the camera saw my specific computer on the network and I clicked to connect on the camera, which it was unable to do and ultimately timed out.