cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G7X Mark ii.. New user, Video looks pixelated help

Scott2436
Apprentice
Hi everyone, I have only owned my G7X Mark ii for a few days and I need some help. First, i only use video and it was the reason I purchased this camera. The footage it is producing of myself and family is amazingly good but my problem comes when shooting open vistas like a mountain range. The footage just doesn’t look good, the mountains look like they are shot in 720p or just not crisp like when I shoot things up close. I’m a noob so it could be something I’m doing. I tried auto focus and switch to manual focus thinking that it was a focus issue but that doesn’t seem to help. I tried full auto, different picture profiles and manual settings but it still looks pretty bad. I’m not zoomed in so I know it’s not some digital zoom thing but I shot the same scene with my iPhone 7 (1080) and it looked much better than the canon. Again I assume it’s something I’m doing wrong since the footage close up is so good. Any help would be greatly appreciated
9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

There is nothing wrong with your camera.  It sounds like you are pixel peeping the images.  

Video frames do not have the resolution of still photos.  Photos of distant objects do not have the resolution, or appear as sharp, and photos of objects that close to the camera.  Try taking more still photos.  The secret to being good at shooting video is having a good understanding of shooting stills, and what is known as the Exposure Triangle and Depth-of-Field.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

mista808
Contributor