cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G7X Mark III Autofocus Issues!!

Jodanquens
Apprentice

Hi all,

I recently “upgraded” from the G7X mk 2 to the mk 3 and have noticed that the new camera seems to struggle with autofocus when shooting video.

I’m pretty new to digital cameras in general but am using my experience with the mark 2 as a reference. With the mark 2 the autofocus seemed “quicker” and was good enough that it never created problems. Yesterday I took the mark 3 with me to Disneyland to shoot video for my kids YouTube channel and 1/3 of the footage was unusable due to poor autofocus. I ended up having to scrap a lot of great footage because the video was out of focus for an extended period.

I have been unable to find any info online about this issue aside from the BestBuy website which 3 out of 3 reviews mention autofocus being a problem! I’m still within the period to return or exchange the product so I’m hoping someone can chime in with advice.

Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6

mmoshaya
Apprentice

Hi,

I was going to purchase the G7X Mark 3 but I noticed a lot of people complaining about the focus on it. Have you managed to fix it? If there is no fix then I'm thinking of moving to Sony 😞

MRPM
Apprentice

I also just bought it and have the same problem. Now I realize so many talks about it on youtube 😞

Canon... Will there be an update or face recognition program?

GHB
Apprentice

I noticed one of the YouTube reviewers said he called Canon tech support and was told a fix IS coming. But that's all he was told. No date when it will be released.

Richard
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi Jodanquens,

Thanks for posting.

So we may better assist you, please contact our technical support team. You may reach them by calling 800-OK-CANON (652-2666), Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. ET, and Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. ET (excluding holidays).