cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G15 - Blown highlights

cmsrocon
Apprentice

Hi,

I'm really pleased with my Powershot G15 - great indoors in low light, great outdoors with blue skies but I have one problem which I need help with. Whenever I take an outdoor shot with an overcast all-white sky, the photo turns out terrible.

The edge between the sky and the forground seems to bleed together and look foggy. On the LCD preview, the sky flashes, which I presume means it is too bright?

Apologies - I'm an amateur and shoot on auto mode. Is this a camera fault, or do I need some help on using manual mode for this type of shot? Anything I can do to simply improve this type of shot? My camera phone seems to handle this scenario ok, so I imagine I should be able to get similar results with my G15?

An example is attached. What can I do to improve the contrast around the tops of the trees? The sky looks really bright, it wasn't at all.

Thanks for your help!

RobIMG_8203.JPG

13 REPLIES 13

cicopo
Elite

Get out of AUTO & into Program (or Tv or Av) & read your manual to learn about & how to change EXPOSURE COMPENSATION. It's how you correct (on the fly) lighting that fools the metering system. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

hsbn
Whiz
I don't think there is anything wrong with your photo. On an overcast day, the sky is always much much brighter than the foreground. No camera sensor can capture this much dynamic range. So it is best to avoid the sky on an overcast day.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

Skirball
Authority

@cmsrocon wrote: