cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flash synchronization issue

gogo1
Contributor

PowerShot sx730 hs

It looks the flash speed is not synchronized.

If someone moves during the shooting, he gets smashed head or body. The woman and the man on the right.

This is the first camera from more than 10, which has such issue. Is it adjustable or I need to send it for repair?

Attached original and  fixed head.

IMG_0101a  original.jpgIMG_0101 copy.jpg

17 REPLIES 17

@gogo1 wrote:

Like I mentioned, it is not the problem with the wide-angle lens in this case. I resolved it with cropping the picture. The problems are the faces in the center. I have several pictures distorted like that. The annoying thing is it happens regularly and for me this is when one of the people turn his head at the time of shooting and his had gets smashed.

When I started shooting 40 years ago, there was no automatic adjustment and it was hard to determine proper shooter speed and exposure. I was extremely happy, when I used flash, because everything was frozen. But not with this camera.

I agree with Mike, who suggested to check flash mode sync.

If it was not a wrong mode it might be some other issue.    

I cropped your photos and compared them both. I see you did some editing to the face on the lady on the right, but I think it looked fine before the edit.  

I see no problem with the photos.What problem do you see? 

smashed_head.gif

Mike Sowsun

Thank you Mike for the GIF! That is another option for demostration, but I never did gif-animation.

Could you tell me how to send this GIF to Canon expert for explanation?

Save the gif to your computer and then attach it to an email. Just like a photo attachment to any email.

Mike Sowsun

And to send it to who? Any email, please.

I don’t know who to send it to. Call Canon and talk to some one about it, and maybe they could tell you. 

Mike Sowsun