cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Color Accuracy on Canon G7X Mark II

BBlythe
Apprentice

I've owned my Canon G7X Mark II for a couple of years now and overall have been pleased with it as a moderately compact camera for travel. Recently my husband and I both photographed the same wildflower landscapes and I was stunned at the difference between the vibrancy and accuracy of the colors he was able to capture with a Canon Rebel T6i vs my camera. My colors looked really washed out in comparison to his. I'm honestly not sure whether this has always been the case and I've just never noticed without the direct comparison, or if I've done something to mess with my settings. As an amateur photographer, I'm kind of at a loss on how to trouble-shoot this one. Any advice?

9 REPLIES 9

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Set both cameras to green square auto. That will override any specific settings that may have been set. Then take the same image and compare.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

To jrhoffman75: Thank you, but as far as I recall we were both shooting on Auto. I'm going to try to replicate the issue to check.

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Are you set to Adobe RGB and viewing the images on a non-Adobe RGB aware system?

To kvbarkley: Well, you got me there. I'll check my settings after I figure out exactly what that means. Sorry. Amateur here.

Canon can output jpegs with one of two color spaces; sRGB and AdobeRGB. sRGB is the standard and is what the camera defaults to. AdobeRGB actually allows for more colors, but the software has to understand it to use it properly, and not all software does.

I just checked your manual, and you do not have that option.

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz